Skip to content

The Bridge Academy

Grades 07–12 · Bridgeport, CT · NCES 090001500809

Charter

At a glance

Reported students

281

NCES CCD 2024–25

Teachers (FTE)

17.2

NCES CCD 2024–25

Student–teacher ratio

16.3:1

Calculated; not a class-size measure

Grades served

07–12

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

School benchmarks

Connecticut high enrollment

16th percentile

Compared with 209 same-level schools reporting enrollment.

District median enrollment

281

The Bridge Academy: 281 reported students.

State peer staffing position

95th percentile

16.3:1 reported; state peer median 11.4:1. Ratio is not class size.

Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22

These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Differences between years can reflect changes in enrollment, staffing, or reporting scope.

Students
279
Teachers (FTE)
15.6
Student–teacher ratio
17.9:1

What the reported data says about The Bridge Academy

The Bridge Academy is a public high school serving grades 07–12 in Bridgeport. It is one of 1 current school records connected to The Bridge Academy District. NCES reports 281 students for 2024–25.

Among 209 high schools in Connecticut with comparable records, this school is smaller than the reported median of 650 students. Its enrollment is at approximately the 16th percentile for that peer group. Size describes the campus, not instructional quality.

The reported student–teacher ratio is 16.3:1, above the Connecticut median of 11.4:1 for the same school level. This ratio uses total enrollment and teacher FTE; it is not an average classroom headcount and can be affected by special programs or part-time staffing.

The largest reported race and ethnicity groups are Black (49.8%) and Hispanic or Latino (45.2%). English learners represent 2.9% of enrollment. Students served under IDEA represent 19.7%. These figures help families understand who the school serves; they are not rating inputs.

Questions worth asking The Bridge Academy

  1. 1How do the reported 16.3:1 student–teacher ratio and 17.2 teacher FTE translate into actual class sizes by grade?
  2. 2Have the reported academic programs changed since the 2021–22 CRDC collection?
  3. 3What counseling support is available today? The school reported 1 counselor FTE in 2021–22.
  4. 4Does community eligibility provide breakfast and lunch to every enrolled student, and are summer meals available?
Bring the full school visit checklist →

Enrollment needs

English learners
2.9%
Students with disabilities
19.7%
Free/reduced-price lunch
85.4%
Lunch program
Yes under Community Eligibility Option (CEO)

Reported support staff

Counselors (FTE)
1
Nurses (FTE)
1
Psychologists (FTE)
1
Social workers (FTE)
2.8

CRDC 2021–22 full-time-equivalent counts; verify current assignments with the school.

Student demographics

Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment

  • White0.7%
  • Hispanic45.2%
  • Black49.8%
  • Asian1.1%
  • American Indian / Alaska Native0%
  • Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0.7%
  • Multiracial2.5%

Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22. Lunch eligibility: NCES CCD 2024–25. Privacy rules can produce missing values.

Programs reported by the school

AP student enrollment

No students enrolled reported

Gifted and talented

Not reported as offered

Computer science

Not reported as offered

CRDC 2021–22: the AP flag records student enrollment; gifted and computer-science fields describe reported programs/classes. Confirm current courses and eligibility with the school.