Skip to content

Oakland Education Center

Grades PK–12 · AUSTIN, MN · NCES 270042605016

At a glance

Reported students

40

NCES CCD 2024–25

Teachers (FTE)

6.51

NCES CCD 2024–25

Student–teacher ratio

6.1:1

Calculated; not a class-size measure

Grades served

PK–12

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

School benchmarks

Minnesota other enrollment

63rd percentile

Compared with 324 same-level schools reporting enrollment.

District median enrollment

40

Oakland Education Center: 40 reported students.

State peer staffing position

50th percentile

6.1:1 reported; state peer median 6.1:1. Ratio is not class size.

Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22

These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Differences between years can reflect changes in enrollment, staffing, or reporting scope.

Students
34
Teachers (FTE)
10
Student–teacher ratio
3.4:1

What the reported data says about Oakland Education Center

Oakland Education Center is a public combined / other school serving grades PK–12 in AUSTIN. It is one of 1 current school records connected to Austin Albert Lea Area Special Educ. NCES reports 40 students for 2024–25.

Among 324 combined / other schools in Minnesota with comparable records, this school is larger than the reported median of 26.5 students. Its enrollment is at approximately the 63rd percentile for that peer group. Size describes the campus, not instructional quality.

The reported student–teacher ratio is 6.1:1, close to the Minnesota median of 6.1:1 for the same school level. This ratio uses total enrollment and teacher FTE; it is not an average classroom headcount and can be affected by special programs or part-time staffing.

The largest reported race and ethnicity groups are White (52.5%) and Hispanic or Latino (20%). English learners represent 2.9% of enrollment. Students served under IDEA represent 97.1%. These figures help families understand who the school serves; they are not rating inputs.

Questions worth asking Oakland Education Center

  1. 1How do the reported 6.1:1 student–teacher ratio and 6.51 teacher FTE translate into actual class sizes by grade?
  2. 2Have the reported academic programs changed since the 2021–22 CRDC collection?
  3. 3What counseling support is available today? The school reported 0 counselor FTE in 2021–22.
  4. 4Does community eligibility provide breakfast and lunch to every enrolled student, and are summer meals available?
Bring the full school visit checklist →

Enrollment needs

English learners
2.9%
Students with disabilities
97.1%
Free/reduced-price lunch
75%
Lunch program
Yes under Community Eligibility Option (CEO)

Reported support staff

Counselors (FTE)
0
Nurses (FTE)
0.5
Psychologists (FTE)
0.5
Social workers (FTE)
8

CRDC 2021–22 full-time-equivalent counts; verify current assignments with the school.

Student demographics

Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment

  • White52.5%
  • Hispanic20%
  • Black12.5%
  • Asian5%
  • American Indian / Alaska Native2.5%
  • Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0%
  • Multiracial7.5%

Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22. Lunch eligibility: NCES CCD 2024–25. Privacy rules can produce missing values.

Programs reported by the school

AP student enrollment

No students enrolled reported

Gifted and talented

Not reported as offered

Computer science

Not reported as offered

CRDC 2021–22: the AP flag records student enrollment; gifted and computer-science fields describe reported programs/classes. Confirm current courses and eligibility with the school.