At a glance
Reported students
332
NCES CCD 2024–25
Teachers (FTE)
27.5
NCES CCD 2024–25
Student–teacher ratio
12.1:1
Calculated; not a class-size measure
Grades served
06–12
NCES preliminary directory 2025–26
School benchmarks
West Virginia high enrollment
22nd percentile
Compared with 114 same-level schools reporting enrollment.
District median enrollment
559
Clay-Battelle High School: 332 reported students.
State peer staffing position
25th percentile
12.1:1 reported; state peer median 14.7:1. Ratio is not class size.
Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22
These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Differences between years can reflect changes in enrollment, staffing, or reporting scope.
- Students
- 340
- Teachers (FTE)
- 25.75
- Student–teacher ratio
- 13.2:1
What the reported data says about Clay-Battelle High School
Clay-Battelle High School is a public high school serving grades 06–12 in Blacksville. It is one of 19 current school records connected to Monongalia County Schools. NCES reports 332 students for 2024–25.
Among 114 high schools in West Virginia with comparable records, this school is smaller than the reported median of 573 students. Its enrollment is at approximately the 22nd percentile for that peer group. Size describes the campus, not instructional quality.
The reported student–teacher ratio is 12.1:1, below the West Virginia median of 14.7:1 for the same school level. This ratio uses total enrollment and teacher FTE; it is not an average classroom headcount and can be affected by special programs or part-time staffing.
The largest reported race and ethnicity groups are White (97.9%) and multiracial (1.5%). English learners represent 0.3% of enrollment. Students served under IDEA represent 21.5%. These figures help families understand who the school serves; they are not rating inputs.
The 2021–22 civil-rights collection reports AP student enrollment, gifted and talented programming. The school reported 3 AP courses. Program availability changes, so families should confirm the current catalog and participation rules directly with the school.
Questions worth asking Clay-Battelle High School
- 1How do the reported 12.1:1 student–teacher ratio and 27.5 teacher FTE translate into actual class sizes by grade?
- 2Have the reported academic programs changed since the 2021–22 CRDC collection?
- 3What counseling support is available today? The school reported 1.5 counselor FTE in 2021–22.
- 4Does community eligibility provide breakfast and lunch to every enrolled student, and are summer meals available?
Enrollment needs
- English learners
- 0.3%
- Students with disabilities
- 21.5%
- Lunch program
- Yes under Community Eligibility Option (CEO)
Reported support staff
- Counselors (FTE)
- 1.5
- Nurses (FTE)
- 1.62
- Psychologists (FTE)
- 0.33
- Social workers (FTE)
- 0.5
CRDC 2021–22 full-time-equivalent counts; verify current assignments with the school.
Student demographics
Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment
- White97.9%
- Hispanic0.6%
- Black0%
- Asian0%
- American Indian / Alaska Native0%
- Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0%
- Multiracial1.5%
Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22. Lunch eligibility: NCES CCD 2024–25. Privacy rules can produce missing values.
Programs reported by the school
AP student enrollment
Students enrolled
3 distinct courses reported
Gifted and talented
Offered
Computer science
Not reported as offered
CRDC 2021–22: the AP flag records student enrollment; gifted and computer-science fields describe reported programs/classes. Confirm current courses and eligibility with the school.
Other schools in Monongalia County Schools
Start with campuses at the same school level or with similar reported enrollment.
Monongalia County Technical Education Center
High · Grades 09–12
Enrollment not reported
University High School
High · Grades 09–12
1,371 reported students
Morgantown High School
High · Grades 09–12
1,754 reported students
Westwood Middle School
Middle · Grades 06–08
346 reported students
Mason Dixon Elementary
Elementary · Grades PK–05
305 reported students
Skyview Elementary School
Elementary · Grades PK–05
373 reported students
