At a glance
Reported students
448
NCES CCD 2024–25
Teachers (FTE)
23.7
NCES CCD 2024–25
Student–teacher ratio
18.9:1
Calculated; not a class-size measure
Grades served
09–12
NCES preliminary directory 2025–26
School benchmarks
Alabama high enrollment
38th percentile
Compared with 314 same-level schools reporting enrollment.
District median enrollment
550
Cherokee County High School: 448 reported students.
State peer staffing position
80th percentile
18.9:1 reported; state peer median 17.2:1. Ratio is not class size.
Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22
These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Differences between years can reflect changes in enrollment, staffing, or reporting scope.
- Students
- 425
- Teachers (FTE)
- 33
- Student–teacher ratio
- 12.9:1
What the reported data says about Cherokee County High School
Cherokee County High School is a public high school serving grades 09–12 in Centre. It is one of 8 current school records connected to Cherokee County. NCES reports 448 students for 2024–25.
Among 314 high schools in Alabama with comparable records, this school is smaller than the reported median of 525.5 students. Its enrollment is at approximately the 38th percentile for that peer group. Size describes the campus, not instructional quality.
The reported student–teacher ratio is 18.9:1, close to the Alabama median of 17.2:1 for the same school level. This ratio uses total enrollment and teacher FTE; it is not an average classroom headcount and can be affected by special programs or part-time staffing.
The largest reported race and ethnicity groups are White (84.2%) and Black (6.5%). English learners represent 2.4% of enrollment. Students served under IDEA represent 15.5%. These figures help families understand who the school serves; they are not rating inputs.
The 2021–22 civil-rights collection reports AP student enrollment. The school reported 6 AP courses. Program availability changes, so families should confirm the current catalog and participation rules directly with the school.
Questions worth asking Cherokee County High School
- 1How do the reported 18.9:1 student–teacher ratio and 23.7 teacher FTE translate into actual class sizes by grade?
- 2Have the reported academic programs changed since the 2021–22 CRDC collection?
- 3What counseling support is available today? The school reported 1 counselor FTE in 2021–22.
- 4Does community eligibility provide breakfast and lunch to every enrolled student, and are summer meals available?
Enrollment needs
- English learners
- 2.4%
- Students with disabilities
- 15.5%
- Free/reduced-price lunch
- 47.8%
- Lunch program
- Yes under Community Eligibility Option (CEO)
Reported support staff
- Counselors (FTE)
- 1
- Nurses (FTE)
- 1
- Psychologists (FTE)
- 0
- Social workers (FTE)
- 0
CRDC 2021–22 full-time-equivalent counts; verify current assignments with the school.
Student demographics
Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment
- White84.2%
- Hispanic5.1%
- Black6.5%
- Asian0.2%
- American Indian / Alaska Native0.2%
- Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0%
- Multiracial3.8%
Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22. Lunch eligibility: NCES CCD 2024–25. Privacy rules can produce missing values.
Programs reported by the school
AP student enrollment
Students enrolled
6 distinct courses reported
Gifted and talented
Not reported as offered
Computer science
Not reported as offered
CRDC 2021–22: the AP flag records student enrollment; gifted and computer-science fields describe reported programs/classes. Confirm current courses and eligibility with the school.
Other schools in Cherokee County
Start with campuses at the same school level or with similar reported enrollment.
Cherokee County Career Technology Center
High · Grades 07–12
Enrollment not reported
Centre Middle School
Middle · Grades 05–08
450 reported students
Spring Garden High School
Other · Grades PK–12
550 reported students
Gaylesville High School
Other · Grades PK–12
341 reported students
Cedar Bluff High School
Other · Grades PK–12
623 reported students
Centre Elementary School
Elementary · Grades PK–04
665 reported students
