At a glance
Reported students
31
NCES CCD 2024–25
Teachers (FTE)
2.04
NCES CCD 2024–25
Student–teacher ratio
15.2:1
Calculated; not a class-size measure
Grades served
07–12
NCES preliminary directory 2025–26
School benchmarks
California high enrollment
14th percentile
Compared with 2,195 same-level schools reporting enrollment.
District median enrollment
190
Hillside Junior/Senior High: 31 reported students.
State peer staffing position
30th percentile
15.2:1 reported; state peer median 19.2:1. Ratio is not class size.
Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22
These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Differences between years can reflect changes in enrollment, staffing, or reporting scope.
- Students
- 49
- Teachers (FTE)
- 3
- Student–teacher ratio
- 16.3:1
What the reported data says about Hillside Junior/Senior High
Hillside Junior/Senior High is a public high school serving grades 07–12 in Pine Valley. It is one of 10 current school records connected to Mountain Empire Unified. NCES reports 31 students for 2024–25.
Among 2,195 high schools in California with comparable records, this school is smaller than the reported median of 416 students. Its enrollment is at approximately the 14th percentile for that peer group. Size describes the campus, not instructional quality.
The reported student–teacher ratio is 15.2:1, below the California median of 19.2:1 for the same school level. This ratio uses total enrollment and teacher FTE; it is not an average classroom headcount and can be affected by special programs or part-time staffing.
The largest reported race and ethnicity groups are Hispanic or Latino (64.5%) and White (25.8%). English learners represent 30.6% of enrollment. Students served under IDEA represent 16.3%. These figures help families understand who the school serves; they are not rating inputs.
Questions worth asking Hillside Junior/Senior High
- 1How do the reported 15.2:1 student–teacher ratio and 2.04 teacher FTE translate into actual class sizes by grade?
- 2Have the reported academic programs changed since the 2021–22 CRDC collection?
- 3What counseling support is available today? The school reported 0 counselor FTE in 2021–22.
- 4Does community eligibility provide breakfast and lunch to every enrolled student, and are summer meals available?
Enrollment needs
- English learners
- 30.6%
- Students with disabilities
- 16.3%
- Free/reduced-price lunch
- 80.6%
- Lunch program
- Yes under Community Eligibility Option (CEO)
Reported support staff
- Counselors (FTE)
- 0
- Nurses (FTE)
- 0
- Psychologists (FTE)
- 0
- Social workers (FTE)
- 0
CRDC 2021–22 full-time-equivalent counts; verify current assignments with the school.
Student demographics
Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment
- White25.8%
- Hispanic64.5%
- Black0%
- Asian0%
- American Indian / Alaska Native0%
- Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0%
- Multiracial9.7%
Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22. Lunch eligibility: NCES CCD 2024–25. Privacy rules can produce missing values.
Programs reported by the school
AP student enrollment
No students enrolled reported
Gifted and talented
Not reported as offered
Computer science
Not reported as offered
CRDC 2021–22: the AP flag records student enrollment; gifted and computer-science fields describe reported programs/classes. Confirm current courses and eligibility with the school.
Other schools in Mountain Empire Unified
Start with campuses at the same school level or with similar reported enrollment.
Sunrise High (Continuation)
High · Grades 09–12
13 reported students
Cottonwood Community Day
High · Grades 07–12
0 reported students
Mountain Empire High
High · Grades 09–12
412 reported students
Mountain Empire Special Education Preschool
Other · Grades M–M
Enrollment not reported
Descanso Elementary
Elementary · Grades KG–06
188 reported students
Clover Flat Elementary
Elementary · Grades KG–06
190 reported students
