Skip to content

Mountain Empire Unified

NCES agency ID 0626100 · Regular public school district that is not a component of a supervisory union

At a glance

Reported students

1,743

NCES CCD 2024–25

Open schools

10

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

Student–teacher ratio

21.4:1

Calculated from NCES 2024–25 enrollment and teacher FTE

Spending per pupil

$18,521

Current expenditure · FY 2023 F-33

Instruction per pupil

$10,900

Calculated from FY 2023 F-33

Grades served

KG–12

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22

These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Agency figures aggregate matched current school records; they may not cover the complete historical district.

Students
1,624
Teachers (FTE)
90
Student–teacher ratio
18:1

What current records say about Mountain Empire Unified

Mountain Empire Unified operates 10 current public-school records serving grades KG–12 in Pine Valley, California. NCES reports 1,743 students and 81.51 classroom teacher FTE for 2024–25.

Within California agencies of the same NCES type, it ranks 456 of 977 with reported enrollment. That position describes scale only—it does not say whether individual schools are a good fit for a particular student.

FY 2023 finance records show $18,521 in current expenditure per pupil and $10,900 per pupil assigned to instruction. Within the same NCES agency type, this places reported current spending 427 of 974 in California. Local wages, transportation, special education, facilities, and agency responsibilities all affect this comparison.

Compare Mountain Empire Unified with regular districts in the California rankings →

Reported needs and resources

English learners
30.3%
Students with disabilities (IDEA)
16.1%
Classroom teachers (FTE)
81.51
Current expenditure (FY 2023)
$33,782,000

Context measures describe who a district serves and its resources. They are not negative rating inputs.

Mountain Empire Unified

Pine Valley, California

NCES EDGE 2024–25 · 32.7322, -116.4937

View office location on a map →

An office location does not show attendance boundaries. Ask the district to confirm the school assignment for a specific home address.

Enrollment questions to ask →

Student demographics

Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment

  • White25.7%
  • Hispanic64.6%
  • Black0.9%
  • Asian0.6%
  • American Indian / Alaska Native4.2%
  • Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0%
  • Multiracial4.1%

Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22 matched schools. Totals can differ due to rounding or source privacy rules.

Explore schools in Mountain Empire Unified

10 current directory entries

Search the full district by school name or level, or browse the alphabetical directory. Add schools to your comparison as you go.

Showing 1–10 of 10 schools · enrollment and ratios: NCES 2024–25. Scroll the table to see all columns.

Schools, grade spans, enrollment, and student–teacher ratios
SchoolLevel / gradesStudentsRatioCompare
Campo ElementaryElementaryKG–0635922.2:1
Clover Flat ElementaryElementaryKG–0619023.8:1
Cottonwood Community DayHigh07–120Not reported
Descanso ElementaryElementaryKG–0618820.8:1
Hillside Junior/Senior HighHigh07–123115.2:1
Mountain Empire HighHigh09–1241218.8:1
Mountain Empire Junior HighMiddle07–0824521.2:1
Mountain Empire Special Education PreschoolOtherM–MNot reportedNot reported
Potrero ElementaryElementaryKG–0630025:1
Sunrise High (Continuation)High09–121317.1:1