At a glance
Reported students
49
NCES CCD 2024–25
Teachers (FTE)
5
NCES CCD 2024–25
Student–teacher ratio
9.8:1
Calculated; not a class-size measure
Grades served
PK–12
NCES preliminary directory 2025–26
School benchmarks
Alaska other enrollment
43rd percentile
Compared with 212 same-level schools reporting enrollment.
District median enrollment
29.5
Whittier Community School: 49 reported students.
State peer staffing position
38th percentile
9.8:1 reported; state peer median 11.6:1. Ratio is not class size.
Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22
These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Differences between years can reflect changes in enrollment, staffing, or reporting scope.
- Students
- 51
- Teachers (FTE)
- 5
- Student–teacher ratio
- 10.2:1
What the reported data says about Whittier Community School
Whittier Community School is a public combined / other school serving grades PK–12 in Whittier. It is one of 4 current school records connected to Chugach School District. NCES reports 49 students for 2024–25.
Among 212 combined / other schools in Alaska with comparable records, this school is smaller than the reported median of 66.5 students. Its enrollment is at approximately the 43rd percentile for that peer group. Size describes the campus, not instructional quality.
The reported student–teacher ratio is 9.8:1, below the Alaska median of 11.6:1 for the same school level. This ratio uses total enrollment and teacher FTE; it is not an average classroom headcount and can be affected by special programs or part-time staffing.
The largest reported race and ethnicity groups are Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander (34.7%) and Asian (20.4%). English learners represent 39.2% of enrollment. Students served under IDEA represent 15.7%. These figures help families understand who the school serves; they are not rating inputs.
Questions worth asking Whittier Community School
- 1How do the reported 9.8:1 student–teacher ratio and 5 teacher FTE translate into actual class sizes by grade?
- 2Have the reported academic programs changed since the 2021–22 CRDC collection?
- 3What counseling support is available today? The school reported 0 counselor FTE in 2021–22.
- 4What meal assistance, transportation, after-school, and family-support services are currently available?
Enrollment needs
- English learners
- 39.2%
- Students with disabilities
- 15.7%
- Lunch program
- No
Reported support staff
- Counselors (FTE)
- 0
- Nurses (FTE)
- 0
- Psychologists (FTE)
- 0
- Social workers (FTE)
- 0
CRDC 2021–22 full-time-equivalent counts; verify current assignments with the school.
Student demographics
Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment
- White14.3%
- Hispanic6.1%
- Black0%
- Asian20.4%
- American Indian / Alaska Native8.2%
- Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander34.7%
- Multiracial16.3%
Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22. Lunch eligibility: NCES CCD 2024–25. Privacy rules can produce missing values.
Programs reported by the school
AP student enrollment
No students enrolled reported
Gifted and talented
Not reported as offered
Computer science
Not reported as offered
CRDC 2021–22: the AP flag records student enrollment; gifted and computer-science fields describe reported programs/classes. Confirm current courses and eligibility with the school.
Other schools in Chugach School District
Start with campuses at the same school level or with similar reported enrollment.
Tatitlek Community School
Other · Grades PK–12
10 reported students
Chenega School
Other · Grades PK–12
9 reported students
FOCUS Homeschool
Other · Grades PK–12
549 reported students
