Skip to content

Johnny Oldman School

Grades PK–12 · Hughes, AK · NCES 020086200379

At a glance

Reported students

29

NCES CCD 2024–25

Teachers (FTE)

2.35

NCES CCD 2024–25

Student–teacher ratio

12.3:1

Calculated; not a class-size measure

Grades served

PK–12

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

School benchmarks

Alaska other enrollment

34th percentile

Compared with 212 same-level schools reporting enrollment.

District median enrollment

27

Johnny Oldman School: 29 reported students.

State peer staffing position

54th percentile

12.3:1 reported; state peer median 11.6:1. Ratio is not class size.

Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22

These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Differences between years can reflect changes in enrollment, staffing, or reporting scope.

Students
12
Teachers (FTE)
3
Student–teacher ratio
4:1

What the reported data says about Johnny Oldman School

Johnny Oldman School is a public combined / other school serving grades PK–12 in Hughes. It is one of 11 current school records connected to Yukon-Koyukuk School District. NCES reports 29 students for 2024–25.

Among 212 combined / other schools in Alaska with comparable records, this school is smaller than the reported median of 66.5 students. Its enrollment is at approximately the 34th percentile for that peer group. Size describes the campus, not instructional quality.

The reported student–teacher ratio is 12.3:1, close to the Alaska median of 11.6:1 for the same school level. This ratio uses total enrollment and teacher FTE; it is not an average classroom headcount and can be affected by special programs or part-time staffing.

The largest reported race and ethnicity groups are American Indian or Alaska Native (93.1%) and White (6.9%). These figures help families understand who the school serves; they are not rating inputs.

Questions worth asking Johnny Oldman School

  1. 1How do the reported 12.3:1 student–teacher ratio and 2.35 teacher FTE translate into actual class sizes by grade?
  2. 2Have the reported academic programs changed since the 2021–22 CRDC collection?
  3. 3What counseling support is available today? The school reported 0.33 counselor FTE in 2021–22.
  4. 4Does community eligibility provide breakfast and lunch to every enrolled student, and are summer meals available?
Bring the full school visit checklist →

Enrollment needs

Free/reduced-price lunch
86.2%
Lunch program
Yes under Community Eligibility Option (CEO)

Reported support staff

Counselors (FTE)
0.33
Nurses (FTE)
0
Psychologists (FTE)
0
Social workers (FTE)
0

CRDC 2021–22 full-time-equivalent counts; verify current assignments with the school.

Student demographics

Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment

  • White6.9%
  • Hispanic0%
  • Black0%
  • Asian0%
  • American Indian / Alaska Native93.1%
  • Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0%
  • Multiracial0%

Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22. Lunch eligibility: NCES CCD 2024–25. Privacy rules can produce missing values.

Programs reported by the school

AP student enrollment

No students enrolled reported

Gifted and talented

Not reported as offered

Computer science

Not reported as offered

CRDC 2021–22: the AP flag records student enrollment; gifted and computer-science fields describe reported programs/classes. Confirm current courses and eligibility with the school.

Start with campuses at the same school level or with similar reported enrollment.

View all 11 district schools →