At a glance
Source years shown below
Reported students
40,358
NCES CCD 2024–25
Open schools
59
NCES preliminary directory 2025–26
Student–teacher ratio
23:1
Calculated from NCES 2024–25 enrollment and teacher FTE
Spending per pupil
$15,820
Current expenditure · FY 2023 F-33
Instruction per pupil
$10,334
Calculated from FY 2023 F-33
Grades served
KG–12
NCES preliminary directory 2025–26
Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22
These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Agency figures aggregate matched current school records; they may not cover the complete historical district.
- Students
- 42,345
- Teachers (FTE)
- 1,981.8
- Student–teacher ratio
- 21.4:1
What current records say about Capistrano Unified
Capistrano Unified operates 59 current public-school records serving grades KG–12 in San Juan Capistrano, California. NCES reports 40,358 students and 1,756.63 classroom teacher FTE for 2024–25.
Within California agencies of the same NCES type, it ranks 11 of 977 with reported enrollment. That position describes scale only—it does not say whether individual schools are a good fit for a particular student.
FY 2023 finance records show $15,820 in current expenditure per pupil and $10,334 per pupil assigned to instruction. Within the same NCES agency type, this places reported current spending 713 of 974 in California. Local wages, transportation, special education, facilities, and agency responsibilities all affect this comparison.
Reported needs and resources
- English learners
- 9.5%
- Students with disabilities (IDEA)
- 12%
- Classroom teachers (FTE)
- 1,756.63
- Current expenditure (FY 2023)
- $662,138,000
Context measures describe who a district serves and its resources. They are not negative rating inputs.
Capistrano Unified
San Juan Capistrano, California
NCES EDGE 2024–25 · 33.4801, -117.6699
View office location on a map →An office location does not show attendance boundaries. Ask the district to confirm the school assignment for a specific home address.
Enrollment questions to ask →Student demographics
Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment
- White51%
- Hispanic27.1%
- Black0.7%
- Asian8.7%
- American Indian / Alaska Native0.1%
- Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0.1%
- Multiracial12%
Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22 matched schools. Totals can differ due to rounding or source privacy rules.
Explore schools in Capistrano Unified
59 current directory entries
Search the full district by school name or level, or browse the alphabetical directory. Add schools to your comparison as you go.
Showing 1–24 of 59 schools · enrollment and ratios: NCES 2024–25. Scroll the table to see all columns.
| School | Level / grades | Students | Ratio | Compare |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aliso Niguel High | High09–12 | 2,563 | 23.5:1 | |
| Aliso Viejo Middle | Middle06–08 | 803 | 22.3:1 | |
| Arroyo Vista Elementary | ElementaryKG–05 | 508 | 24.2:1 | |
| Arroyo Vista Middle | Middle06–08 | 329 | 20.8:1 | |
| Bathgate Elementary | ElementaryKG–05 | 570 | 25.9:1 | |
| Bernice Ayer Middle | Middle06–08 | 919 | 22.4:1 | |
| Bridges Community Day | High06–12 | 12 | 3.8:1 | |
| California Preparatory Academy | High09–12 | 198 | 22.9:1 | |
| Canyon Vista Elementary | ElementaryKG–05 | 533 | 24.2:1 | |
| Capistrano Home/Virtual | ElementaryKG–08 | 82 | 17.4:1 | |
| Capistrano Union High | High09–12 | 103 | 8.6:1 | |
| Capistrano Valley High | High09–12 | 1,991 | 21.8:1 | |
| Carl Hankey Elementary | ElementaryKG–05 | 284 | 23.7:1 | |
| Carl Hankey Middle | Middle06–08 | 181 | 15.7:1 | |
| Castille Elementary | ElementaryKG–05 | 482 | 23:1 | |
| Chaparral Elementary | ElementaryKG–05 | 604 | 23.2:1 | |
| Clarence Lobo Elementary | ElementaryKG–05 | 328 | 20.5:1 | |
| Concordia Elementary | ElementaryKG–05 | 533 | 26.7:1 | |
| Dana Hills High | High09–12 | 1,725 | 21.6:1 | |
| Del Obispo Elementary | ElementaryKG–05 | 310 | 20.7:1 | |
| Don Juan Avila Elementary | ElementaryKG–05 | 672 | 26.9:1 | |
| Don Juan Avila Middle | Middle06–08 | 863 | 24.2:1 | |
| Early Childhood Center | OtherM–M | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Esencia | ElementaryKG–05 | 996 | 26.9:1 |
