Skip to content

Death Valley High Academy

Grades 07–12 · Shoshone, CA · NCES 061068007096

Old State Highway 127 · Shoshone, CA 92384

At a glance

Reported students

4

NCES CCD 2024–25

Teachers (FTE)

1.4

NCES CCD 2024–25

Student–teacher ratio

2.9:1

Calculated; not a class-size measure

Grades served

07–12

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

School benchmarks

California high enrollment

5th percentile

Compared with 2,195 same-level schools reporting enrollment.

District median enrollment

2

Death Valley High Academy: 4 reported students.

State peer staffing position

1st percentile

2.9:1 reported; state peer median 19.2:1. Ratio is not class size.

Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22

These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Differences between years can reflect changes in enrollment, staffing, or reporting scope.

Students
28
Teachers (FTE)
4
Student–teacher ratio
7:1

What the reported data says about Death Valley High Academy

Death Valley High Academy is a public high school serving grades 07–12 in Shoshone. It is one of 4 current school records connected to Death Valley Unified. NCES reports 4 students for 2024–25.

Among 2,195 high schools in California with comparable records, this school is smaller than the reported median of 416 students. Its enrollment is at approximately the 5th percentile for that peer group. Size describes the campus, not instructional quality.

The reported student–teacher ratio is 2.9:1, below the California median of 19.2:1 for the same school level. This ratio uses total enrollment and teacher FTE; it is not an average classroom headcount and can be affected by special programs or part-time staffing.

The largest reported race and ethnicity groups are Hispanic or Latino (50%) and White (25%). English learners represent 17.9% of enrollment. Students served under IDEA represent 7.1%. These figures help families understand who the school serves; they are not rating inputs.

Questions worth asking Death Valley High Academy

  1. 1How do the reported 2.9:1 student–teacher ratio and 1.4 teacher FTE translate into actual class sizes by grade?
  2. 2Have the reported academic programs changed since the 2021–22 CRDC collection?
  3. 3What counseling support is available today? The school reported 0.15 counselor FTE in 2021–22.
  4. 4What meal assistance, transportation, after-school, and family-support services are currently available?
Bring the full school visit checklist →

Enrollment needs

English learners
17.9%
Students with disabilities
7.1%
Lunch program
Yes under Provision 2

Reported support staff

Counselors (FTE)
0.15
Nurses (FTE)
0
Psychologists (FTE)
0
Social workers (FTE)
0

CRDC 2021–22 full-time-equivalent counts; verify current assignments with the school.

Student demographics

Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment

  • White25%
  • Hispanic50%
  • Black0%
  • Asian0%
  • American Indian / Alaska Native0%
  • Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0%
  • Multiracial25%

Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22. Lunch eligibility: NCES CCD 2024–25. Privacy rules can produce missing values.

Programs reported by the school

AP student enrollment

No students enrolled reported

Gifted and talented

Not reported as offered

Computer science

Not reported as offered

CRDC 2021–22: the AP flag records student enrollment; gifted and computer-science fields describe reported programs/classes. Confirm current courses and eligibility with the school.

Start with campuses at the same school level or with similar reported enrollment.

View all 4 district schools →