Skip to content

South Tahoe High

Grades 09–12 · South Lake Tahoe, CA · NCES 062064002481

1735 Lake Tahoe Blvd. · South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150

At a glance

Reported students

1,076

NCES CCD 2024–25

Teachers (FTE)

54.79

NCES CCD 2024–25

Student–teacher ratio

19.6:1

Calculated; not a class-size measure

Grades served

09–12

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

School benchmarks

California high enrollment

67th percentile

Compared with 2,195 same-level schools reporting enrollment.

District median enrollment

406.5

South Tahoe High: 1,076 reported students.

State peer staffing position

54th percentile

19.6:1 reported; state peer median 19.2:1. Ratio is not class size.

Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22

These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Differences between years can reflect changes in enrollment, staffing, or reporting scope.

Students
1,156
Teachers (FTE)
58.55
Student–teacher ratio
19.7:1

What the reported data says about South Tahoe High

South Tahoe High is a public high school serving grades 09–12 in South Lake Tahoe. It is one of 8 current school records connected to Lake Tahoe Unified. NCES reports 1,076 students for 2024–25.

Among 2,195 high schools in California with comparable records, this school is larger than the reported median of 416 students. Its enrollment is at approximately the 67th percentile for that peer group. Size describes the campus, not instructional quality.

The reported student–teacher ratio is 19.6:1, close to the California median of 19.2:1 for the same school level. This ratio uses total enrollment and teacher FTE; it is not an average classroom headcount and can be affected by special programs or part-time staffing.

The largest reported race and ethnicity groups are Hispanic or Latino (48.2%) and White (42.5%). English learners represent 15.7% of enrollment. Students served under IDEA represent 13.1%. These figures help families understand who the school serves; they are not rating inputs.

The 2021–22 civil-rights collection reports AP student enrollment. The school reported 8 AP courses. Program availability changes, so families should confirm the current catalog and participation rules directly with the school.

Questions worth asking South Tahoe High

  1. 1How do the reported 19.6:1 student–teacher ratio and 54.79 teacher FTE translate into actual class sizes by grade?
  2. 2Have the reported academic programs changed since the 2021–22 CRDC collection?
  3. 3What counseling support is available today? The school reported 2.25 counselor FTE in 2021–22.
  4. 4What meal assistance, transportation, after-school, and family-support services are currently available?
Bring the full school visit checklist →

Enrollment needs

English learners
15.7%
Students with disabilities
13.1%
Free/reduced-price lunch
46.7%
Lunch program
Yes under Provision 2

Reported support staff

Counselors (FTE)
2.25
Nurses (FTE)
0.6
Psychologists (FTE)
0.8
Social workers (FTE)
0

CRDC 2021–22 full-time-equivalent counts; verify current assignments with the school.

Student demographics

Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment

  • White42.5%
  • Hispanic48.2%
  • Black0.4%
  • Asian4.4%
  • American Indian / Alaska Native0.2%
  • Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0.2%
  • Multiracial3.3%

Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22. Lunch eligibility: NCES CCD 2024–25. Privacy rules can produce missing values.

Programs reported by the school

AP student enrollment

Students enrolled

8 distinct courses reported

Gifted and talented

Not reported as offered

Computer science

Not reported as offered

CRDC 2021–22: the AP flag records student enrollment; gifted and computer-science fields describe reported programs/classes. Confirm current courses and eligibility with the school.

Start with campuses at the same school level or with similar reported enrollment.

View all 8 district schools →