Skip to content

Norwalk-La Mirada Unified

NCES agency ID 0627690 · Regular public school district that is not a component of a supervisory union

At a glance

Reported students

14,577

NCES CCD 2024–25

Open schools

26

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

Student–teacher ratio

22.8:1

Calculated from NCES 2024–25 enrollment and teacher FTE

Spending per pupil

$19,207

Current expenditure · FY 2023 F-33

Instruction per pupil

$10,974

Calculated from FY 2023 F-33

Grades served

KG–12

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22

These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Agency figures aggregate matched current school records; they may not cover the complete historical district.

Students
15,371
Teachers (FTE)
839.57
Student–teacher ratio
18.3:1

What current records say about Norwalk-La Mirada Unified

Norwalk-La Mirada Unified operates 26 current public-school records serving grades KG–12 in Norwalk, California. NCES reports 14,577 students and 638.28 classroom teacher FTE for 2024–25.

Within California agencies of the same NCES type, it ranks 91 of 977 with reported enrollment. That position describes scale only—it does not say whether individual schools are a good fit for a particular student.

FY 2023 finance records show $19,207 in current expenditure per pupil and $10,974 per pupil assigned to instruction. Within the same NCES agency type, this places reported current spending 369 of 974 in California. Local wages, transportation, special education, facilities, and agency responsibilities all affect this comparison.

Compare Norwalk-La Mirada Unified with regular districts in the California rankings →

Reported needs and resources

English learners
15.8%
Students with disabilities (IDEA)
9.5%
Classroom teachers (FTE)
638.28
Current expenditure (FY 2023)
$295,907,000

Context measures describe who a district serves and its resources. They are not negative rating inputs.

Norwalk-La Mirada Unified

Norwalk, California

NCES EDGE 2024–25 · 33.9137, -118.0815

View office location on a map →

An office location does not show attendance boundaries. Ask the district to confirm the school assignment for a specific home address.

Enrollment questions to ask →

Student demographics

Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment

  • White5.7%
  • Hispanic81.6%
  • Black2.5%
  • Asian6.7%
  • American Indian / Alaska Native0.2%
  • Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0.3%
  • Multiracial2.9%

Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22 matched schools. Totals can differ due to rounding or source privacy rules.

Explore schools in Norwalk-La Mirada Unified

26 current directory entries

Search the full district by school name or level, or browse the alphabetical directory. Add schools to your comparison as you go.

Showing 1–24 of 26 schools · enrollment and ratios: NCES 2024–25. Scroll the table to see all columns.

Schools, grade spans, enrollment, and student–teacher ratios
SchoolLevel / gradesStudentsRatioCompare
Anna M. Glazier ElementaryElementaryKG–0538823.5:1
Arlie F. Hutchinson MiddleMiddle06–0864622:1
Arturo Sanchez ElementaryElementaryKG–0523923.9:1
Corvallis MiddleMiddle06–0866324.3:1
D. D. Johnston ElementaryElementaryKG–0536122.3:1
Earl E. Edmondson ElementaryElementaryKG–0535221.8:1
Eastwood ElementaryElementaryKG–0535123.2:1
El Camino High (Continuation)High09–1225614:1
Escalona ElementaryElementaryKG–0542422.3:1
Foster Road ElementaryElementaryKG–0524623.8:1
Gardenhill ElementaryElementaryKG–0563324.6:1
John Dolland ElementaryElementaryKG–0558622.4:1
John Foster Dulles ElementaryElementaryKG–0525022.6:1
John H. Glenn HighHigh09–1288218.4:1
John H. Nuffer ElementaryElementaryKG–0531623.1:1
Julia B. Morrison ElementaryElementaryKG–0554823.7:1
La Mirada HighHigh09–121,72623.6:1
La Pluma ElementaryElementaryKG–0528423.5:1
Loretta Lampton ElementaryElementaryKG–0540622.6:1
Los Alisos MiddleMiddle06–0892026.6:1
Nettie L. Waite MiddleMiddle06–0846219.4:1
New River ElementaryElementaryKG–0531924.2:1
Norwalk HighHigh09–122,07523.8:1
Ramona Head Start/State PreschoolOtherM–MNot reportedNot reported