Skip to content

Surfside Academy

Grades KG–12 · Oceanside, CA · NCES 062825014502

At a glance

Reported students

234

NCES CCD 2024–25

Teachers (FTE)

6.24

NCES CCD 2024–25

Student–teacher ratio

37.5:1

Calculated; not a class-size measure

Grades served

KG–12

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

School benchmarks

California other enrollment

53rd percentile

Compared with 564 same-level schools reporting enrollment.

District median enrollment

512

Surfside Academy: 234 reported students.

State peer staffing position

98th percentile

37.5:1 reported; state peer median 18:1. Ratio is not class size.

Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22

These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Differences between years can reflect changes in enrollment, staffing, or reporting scope.

Students
410
Teachers (FTE)
10
Student–teacher ratio
41:1

What the reported data says about Surfside Academy

Surfside Academy is a public combined / other school serving grades KG–12 in Oceanside. It is one of 23 current school records connected to Oceanside Unified. NCES reports 234 students for 2024–25.

Among 564 combined / other schools in California with comparable records, this school is close in size to the reported median of 220 students. Its enrollment is at approximately the 53rd percentile for that peer group. Size describes the campus, not instructional quality.

The reported student–teacher ratio is 37.5:1, above the California median of 18:1 for the same school level. This ratio uses total enrollment and teacher FTE; it is not an average classroom headcount and can be affected by special programs or part-time staffing.

The largest reported race and ethnicity groups are Hispanic or Latino (54.7%) and White (28.2%). English learners represent 9.3% of enrollment. Students served under IDEA represent 10.2%. These figures help families understand who the school serves; they are not rating inputs.

Questions worth asking Surfside Academy

  1. 1How do the reported 37.5:1 student–teacher ratio and 6.24 teacher FTE translate into actual class sizes by grade?
  2. 2Have the reported academic programs changed since the 2021–22 CRDC collection?
  3. 3What counseling support is available today? The school reported 1 counselor FTE in 2021–22.
  4. 4Does community eligibility provide breakfast and lunch to every enrolled student, and are summer meals available?
Bring the full school visit checklist →

Enrollment needs

English learners
9.3%
Students with disabilities
10.2%
Free/reduced-price lunch
73.1%
Lunch program
Yes under Community Eligibility Option (CEO)

Reported support staff

Counselors (FTE)
1
Nurses (FTE)
0.17
Psychologists (FTE)
0.6
Social workers (FTE)
0

CRDC 2021–22 full-time-equivalent counts; verify current assignments with the school.

Student demographics

Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment

  • White28.2%
  • Hispanic54.7%
  • Black5.6%
  • Asian3.4%
  • American Indian / Alaska Native0%
  • Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander1.7%
  • Multiracial5.6%

Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22. Lunch eligibility: NCES CCD 2024–25. Privacy rules can produce missing values.

Programs reported by the school

AP student enrollment

No students enrolled reported

Gifted and talented

Not reported as offered

Computer science

Not reported as offered

CRDC 2021–22: the AP flag records student enrollment; gifted and computer-science fields describe reported programs/classes. Confirm current courses and eligibility with the school.

Start with campuses at the same school level or with similar reported enrollment.

View all 23 district schools →