At a glance
Reported students
33
NCES CCD 2024–25
Teachers (FTE)
1.34
NCES CCD 2024–25
Student–teacher ratio
24.6:1
Calculated; not a class-size measure
Grades served
KG–12
NCES preliminary directory 2025–26
School benchmarks
California other enrollment
17th percentile
Compared with 564 same-level schools reporting enrollment.
District median enrollment
416
Palos Verdes Distance Learning Academy: 33 reported students.
State peer staffing position
82nd percentile
24.6:1 reported; state peer median 18:1. Ratio is not class size.
Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22
These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Differences between years can reflect changes in enrollment, staffing, or reporting scope.
- Students
- 134
- Teachers (FTE)
- 6.5
- Student–teacher ratio
- 20.6:1
What the reported data says about Palos Verdes Distance Learning Academy
Palos Verdes Distance Learning Academy is a public combined / other school serving grades KG–12 in Rolling Hills. It is one of 18 current school records connected to Palos Verdes Peninsula Unified. NCES reports 33 students for 2024–25.
Among 564 combined / other schools in California with comparable records, this school is smaller than the reported median of 220 students. Its enrollment is at approximately the 17th percentile for that peer group. Size describes the campus, not instructional quality.
The reported student–teacher ratio is 24.6:1, above the California median of 18:1 for the same school level. This ratio uses total enrollment and teacher FTE; it is not an average classroom headcount and can be affected by special programs or part-time staffing.
The largest reported race and ethnicity groups are Asian (30.3%) and White (27.3%). English learners represent 7.5% of enrollment. Students served under IDEA represent 8.2%. These figures help families understand who the school serves; they are not rating inputs.
The 2021–22 civil-rights collection reports AP student enrollment, gifted and talented programming. The school reported 4 AP courses. Program availability changes, so families should confirm the current catalog and participation rules directly with the school.
Questions worth asking Palos Verdes Distance Learning Academy
- 1How do the reported 24.6:1 student–teacher ratio and 1.34 teacher FTE translate into actual class sizes by grade?
- 2Have the reported academic programs changed since the 2021–22 CRDC collection?
- 3What counseling support is available today? The school reported 0.5 counselor FTE in 2021–22.
- 4What meal assistance, transportation, after-school, and family-support services are currently available?
Enrollment needs
- English learners
- 7.5%
- Students with disabilities
- 8.2%
- Free/reduced-price lunch
- 15.2%
- Lunch program
- Missing
Reported support staff
- Counselors (FTE)
- 0.5
- Nurses (FTE)
- 0
- Psychologists (FTE)
- 0.2
- Social workers (FTE)
- 0
CRDC 2021–22 full-time-equivalent counts; verify current assignments with the school.
Student demographics
Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment
- White27.3%
- Hispanic21.2%
- Black0%
- Asian30.3%
- American Indian / Alaska Native3%
- Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0%
- Multiracial18.2%
Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22. Lunch eligibility: NCES CCD 2024–25. Privacy rules can produce missing values.
Programs reported by the school
AP student enrollment
Students enrolled
4 distinct courses reported
Gifted and talented
Offered
Computer science
Not reported as offered
CRDC 2021–22: the AP flag records student enrollment; gifted and computer-science fields describe reported programs/classes. Confirm current courses and eligibility with the school.
Other schools in Palos Verdes Peninsula Unified
Start with campuses at the same school level or with similar reported enrollment.
Sunrise Pre-School
Other · Grades M–M
Enrollment not reported
Rancho del Mar High (Continuation)
High · Grades 10–12
41 reported students
Lunada Bay Elementary
Elementary · Grades KG–05
329 reported students
Rancho Vista Elementary
Elementary · Grades KG–05
329 reported students
Point Vicente Elementary
Elementary · Grades KG–05
334 reported students
Vista Grande Elementary
Elementary · Grades KG–05
355 reported students
