Skip to content

Norwalk Early Childhood Center

Grades PK–PK · Norwalk, CT · NCES 090309001914

At a glance

Reported students

187

NCES CCD 2024–25

Teachers (FTE)

7

NCES CCD 2024–25

Student–teacher ratio

26.7:1

Calculated; not a class-size measure

Grades served

PK–PK

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

School benchmarks

Connecticut other enrollment

45th percentile

Compared with 20 same-level schools reporting enrollment.

District median enrollment

409

Norwalk Early Childhood Center: 187 reported students.

State peer staffing position

90th percentile

26.7:1 reported; state peer median 17:1. Ratio is not class size.

Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22

These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Differences between years can reflect changes in enrollment, staffing, or reporting scope.

Students
Not reported
Teachers (FTE)
9
Student–teacher ratio
Not reported

What the reported data says about Norwalk Early Childhood Center

Norwalk Early Childhood Center is a public combined / other school serving grades PK–PK in Norwalk. It is one of 22 current school records connected to Norwalk School District. NCES reports 187 students for 2024–25.

Among 20 combined / other schools in Connecticut with comparable records, this school is smaller than the reported median of 242 students. Its enrollment is at approximately the 45th percentile for that peer group. Size describes the campus, not instructional quality.

The reported student–teacher ratio is 26.7:1, above the Connecticut median of 17:1 for the same school level. This ratio uses total enrollment and teacher FTE; it is not an average classroom headcount and can be affected by special programs or part-time staffing.

The largest reported race and ethnicity groups are Hispanic or Latino (57.8%) and Black (15%). These figures help families understand who the school serves; they are not rating inputs.

Questions worth asking Norwalk Early Childhood Center

  1. 1How do the reported 26.7:1 student–teacher ratio and 7 teacher FTE translate into actual class sizes by grade?
  2. 2Which advanced, gifted, career, arts, and computer-science courses are available this year, and how do students qualify?
  3. 3What counseling support is available today? The school reported 0 counselor FTE in 2021–22.
  4. 4Does community eligibility provide breakfast and lunch to every enrolled student, and are summer meals available?
Bring the full school visit checklist →

Enrollment needs

Free/reduced-price lunch
45.5%
Lunch program
Yes under Community Eligibility Option (CEO)

Reported support staff

Counselors (FTE)
0
Nurses (FTE)
1
Psychologists (FTE)
1
Social workers (FTE)
1

CRDC 2021–22 full-time-equivalent counts; verify current assignments with the school.

Student demographics

Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment

  • White14.4%
  • Hispanic57.8%
  • Black15%
  • Asian6.4%
  • American Indian / Alaska Native0%
  • Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0%
  • Multiracial6.4%

Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22. Lunch eligibility: NCES CCD 2024–25. Privacy rules can produce missing values.

Programs reported by the school

Gifted and talented

Not reported as offered

CRDC 2021–22: the AP flag records student enrollment; gifted and computer-science fields describe reported programs/classes. Confirm current courses and eligibility with the school.

Start with campuses at the same school level or with similar reported enrollment.

View all 22 district schools →