At a glance
Reported students
529
NCES CCD 2024–25
Teachers (FTE)
45
NCES CCD 2024–25
Student–teacher ratio
11.8:1
Calculated; not a class-size measure
Grades served
PK–03
NCES preliminary directory 2025–26
School benchmarks
Connecticut elementary enrollment
87th percentile
Compared with 591 same-level schools reporting enrollment.
District median enrollment
583
Vogel-Wetmore School: 529 reported students.
State peer staffing position
40th percentile
11.8:1 reported; state peer median 12.2:1. Ratio is not class size.
Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22
These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Differences between years can reflect changes in enrollment, staffing, or reporting scope.
- Students
- 542
- Teachers (FTE)
- 50
- Student–teacher ratio
- 10.8:1
What the reported data says about Vogel-Wetmore School
Vogel-Wetmore School is a public elementary school serving grades PK–03 in Torrington. It is one of 6 current school records connected to Torrington School District. NCES reports 529 students for 2024–25.
Among 591 elementary schools in Connecticut with comparable records, this school is larger than the reported median of 371 students. Its enrollment is at approximately the 87th percentile for that peer group. Size describes the campus, not instructional quality.
The reported student–teacher ratio is 11.8:1, close to the Connecticut median of 12.2:1 for the same school level. This ratio uses total enrollment and teacher FTE; it is not an average classroom headcount and can be affected by special programs or part-time staffing.
The largest reported race and ethnicity groups are Hispanic or Latino (44.6%) and White (43.7%). English learners represent 15.1% of enrollment. Students served under IDEA represent 13.8%. These figures help families understand who the school serves; they are not rating inputs.
Questions worth asking Vogel-Wetmore School
- 1How do the reported 11.8:1 student–teacher ratio and 45 teacher FTE translate into actual class sizes by grade?
- 2Which advanced, gifted, career, arts, and computer-science courses are available this year, and how do students qualify?
- 3What counseling support is available today? The school reported 0 counselor FTE in 2021–22.
- 4Does community eligibility provide breakfast and lunch to every enrolled student, and are summer meals available?
Enrollment needs
- English learners
- 15.1%
- Students with disabilities
- 13.8%
- Free/reduced-price lunch
- 68.2%
- Lunch program
- Yes under Community Eligibility Option (CEO)
Reported support staff
- Counselors (FTE)
- 0
- Nurses (FTE)
- 2
- Psychologists (FTE)
- 1
- Social workers (FTE)
- 1.5
CRDC 2021–22 full-time-equivalent counts; verify current assignments with the school.
Student demographics
Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment
- White43.7%
- Hispanic44.6%
- Black7.8%
- Asian2.5%
- American Indian / Alaska Native0%
- Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0.4%
- Multiracial1.1%
Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22. Lunch eligibility: NCES CCD 2024–25. Privacy rules can produce missing values.
Programs reported by the school
Gifted and talented
Not reported as offered
CRDC 2021–22: the AP flag records student enrollment; gifted and computer-science fields describe reported programs/classes. Confirm current courses and eligibility with the school.
Other schools in Torrington School District
Start with campuses at the same school level or with similar reported enrollment.
Torringford School
Elementary · Grades KG–03
583 reported students
Southwest School
Elementary · Grades KG–03
289 reported students
Torrington Middle School
Middle · Grades 07–08
981 reported students
Torrington High School
High · Grades 09–12
1,034 reported students
Torrington Intermediate School
Middle · Grades 04–06
Enrollment not reported
