At a glance
Reported students
165
NCES CCD 2024–25
Teachers (FTE)
2
NCES CCD 2024–25
Student–teacher ratio
82.5:1
Calculated; not a class-size measure
Grades served
PK–PK
NCES preliminary directory 2025–26
School benchmarks
Florida other enrollment
74th percentile
Compared with 446 same-level schools reporting enrollment.
District median enrollment
634
BAKER/HEAD START: 165 reported students.
State peer staffing position
98th percentile
82.5:1 reported; state peer median 10.7:1. Ratio is not class size.
Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22
These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Differences between years can reflect changes in enrollment, staffing, or reporting scope.
- Students
- Not reported
- Teachers (FTE)
- 6
- Student–teacher ratio
- Not reported
What the reported data says about BAKER/HEAD START
BAKER/HEAD START is a public combined / other school serving grades PK–PK in PUNTA GORDA. It is one of 26 current school records connected to CHARLOTTE. NCES reports 165 students for 2024–25.
Among 446 combined / other schools in Florida with comparable records, this school is larger than the reported median of 52 students. Its enrollment is at approximately the 74th percentile for that peer group. Size describes the campus, not instructional quality.
The reported student–teacher ratio is 82.5:1, above the Florida median of 10.7:1 for the same school level. This ratio uses total enrollment and teacher FTE; it is not an average classroom headcount and can be affected by special programs or part-time staffing.
The largest reported race and ethnicity groups are White (37%) and Hispanic or Latino (24.2%). These figures help families understand who the school serves; they are not rating inputs.
Questions worth asking BAKER/HEAD START
- 1How do the reported 82.5:1 student–teacher ratio and 2 teacher FTE translate into actual class sizes by grade?
- 2Which advanced, gifted, career, arts, and computer-science courses are available this year, and how do students qualify?
- 3What counseling support is available today? The school reported 0 counselor FTE in 2021–22.
- 4Does community eligibility provide breakfast and lunch to every enrolled student, and are summer meals available?
Enrollment needs
- Free/reduced-price lunch
- 77%
- Lunch program
- Yes under Community Eligibility Option (CEO)
Reported support staff
- Counselors (FTE)
- 0
- Nurses (FTE)
- 1
- Psychologists (FTE)
- 0
- Social workers (FTE)
- 0
CRDC 2021–22 full-time-equivalent counts; verify current assignments with the school.
Student demographics
Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment
- White37%
- Hispanic24.2%
- Black22.4%
- Asian1.2%
- American Indian / Alaska Native0%
- Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0%
- Multiracial15.2%
Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22. Lunch eligibility: NCES CCD 2024–25. Privacy rules can produce missing values.
Programs reported by the school
Gifted and talented
Not reported as offered
CRDC 2021–22: the AP flag records student enrollment; gifted and computer-science fields describe reported programs/classes. Confirm current courses and eligibility with the school.
Other schools in CHARLOTTE
Start with campuses at the same school level or with similar reported enrollment.
CHARLOTTE HARBOR SCHOOL
Other · Grades PK–12
130 reported students
CHARLOTTE VIRTUAL FRANCHISE
Other · Grades KG–12
83 reported students
CHARLOTTE VIRTUAL INSTRUCTION PROGRAM
Other · Grades KG–12
0 reported students
CHARLOTTE VIRTUAL INSTRUCTION ACADEMY
Other · Grades KG–12
Enrollment not reported
BABCOCK NEIGHBORHOOD SCHOOL
Other · Grades KG–12
1,053 reported students
THE ACADEMY
High · Grades 06–12
298 reported students
