Skip to content

DESOTO SECONDARY SCHOOL

Grades KG–12 · ARCADIA, FL · NCES 120042006813

At a glance

Reported students

51

NCES CCD 2024–25

Teachers (FTE)

1

NCES CCD 2024–25

Student–teacher ratio

51:1

Calculated; not a class-size measure

Grades served

KG–12

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

School benchmarks

Florida other enrollment

49th percentile

Compared with 446 same-level schools reporting enrollment.

District median enrollment

548.5

DESOTO SECONDARY SCHOOL: 51 reported students.

State peer staffing position

95th percentile

51:1 reported; state peer median 10.7:1. Ratio is not class size.

Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22

These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Differences between years can reflect changes in enrollment, staffing, or reporting scope.

Students
70
Teachers (FTE)
1
Student–teacher ratio
70:1

What the reported data says about DESOTO SECONDARY SCHOOL

DESOTO SECONDARY SCHOOL is a public combined / other school serving grades KG–12 in ARCADIA. It is one of 9 current school records connected to DESOTO. NCES reports 51 students for 2024–25.

Among 446 combined / other schools in Florida with comparable records, this school is close in size to the reported median of 52 students. Its enrollment is at approximately the 49th percentile for that peer group. Size describes the campus, not instructional quality.

The reported student–teacher ratio is 51:1, above the Florida median of 10.7:1 for the same school level. This ratio uses total enrollment and teacher FTE; it is not an average classroom headcount and can be affected by special programs or part-time staffing.

The largest reported race and ethnicity groups are Hispanic or Latino (49%) and Black (29.4%). English learners represent 1.4% of enrollment. Students served under IDEA represent 35.7%. These figures help families understand who the school serves; they are not rating inputs.

Questions worth asking DESOTO SECONDARY SCHOOL

  1. 1How do the reported 51:1 student–teacher ratio and 1 teacher FTE translate into actual class sizes by grade?
  2. 2Have the reported academic programs changed since the 2021–22 CRDC collection?
  3. 3What counseling support is available today? The school reported 0 counselor FTE in 2021–22.
  4. 4Does community eligibility provide breakfast and lunch to every enrolled student, and are summer meals available?
Bring the full school visit checklist →

Enrollment needs

English learners
1.4%
Students with disabilities
35.7%
Free/reduced-price lunch
52.9%
Lunch program
Yes under Community Eligibility Option (CEO)

Reported support staff

Counselors (FTE)
0
Nurses (FTE)
0
Psychologists (FTE)
0
Social workers (FTE)
0

CRDC 2021–22 full-time-equivalent counts; verify current assignments with the school.

Student demographics

Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment

  • White15.7%
  • Hispanic49%
  • Black29.4%
  • Asian2%
  • American Indian / Alaska Native0%
  • Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0%
  • Multiracial3.9%

Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22. Lunch eligibility: NCES CCD 2024–25. Privacy rules can produce missing values.

Programs reported by the school

AP student enrollment

No students enrolled reported

Gifted and talented

Not reported as offered

Computer science

Not reported as offered

CRDC 2021–22: the AP flag records student enrollment; gifted and computer-science fields describe reported programs/classes. Confirm current courses and eligibility with the school.

Start with campuses at the same school level or with similar reported enrollment.

View all 9 district schools →