At a glance
Reported students
168
NCES CCD 2024–25
Teachers (FTE)
11.33
NCES CCD 2024–25
Student–teacher ratio
14.8:1
Calculated; not a class-size measure
Grades served
PK–12
NCES preliminary directory 2025–26
School benchmarks
Florida other enrollment
74th percentile
Compared with 446 same-level schools reporting enrollment.
District median enrollment
629
SOUTH COUNTY CAREER CENTER: 168 reported students.
State peer staffing position
65th percentile
14.8:1 reported; state peer median 10.7:1. Ratio is not class size.
Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22
These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Differences between years can reflect changes in enrollment, staffing, or reporting scope.
- Students
- 176
- Teachers (FTE)
- 19
- Student–teacher ratio
- 9.3:1
What the reported data says about SOUTH COUNTY CAREER CENTER
SOUTH COUNTY CAREER CENTER is a public combined / other school serving grades PK–12 in RUSKIN. It is one of 294 current school records connected to HILLSBOROUGH. NCES reports 168 students for 2024–25.
Among 446 combined / other schools in Florida with comparable records, this school is larger than the reported median of 52 students. Its enrollment is at approximately the 74th percentile for that peer group. Size describes the campus, not instructional quality.
The reported student–teacher ratio is 14.8:1, above the Florida median of 10.7:1 for the same school level. This ratio uses total enrollment and teacher FTE; it is not an average classroom headcount and can be affected by special programs or part-time staffing.
The largest reported race and ethnicity groups are Hispanic or Latino (56%) and White (23.8%). English learners represent 1.1% of enrollment. Students served under IDEA represent 29.5%. These figures help families understand who the school serves; they are not rating inputs.
Questions worth asking SOUTH COUNTY CAREER CENTER
- 1How do the reported 14.8:1 student–teacher ratio and 11.33 teacher FTE translate into actual class sizes by grade?
- 2Have the reported academic programs changed since the 2021–22 CRDC collection?
- 3What counseling support is available today? The school reported 2 counselor FTE in 2021–22.
- 4Does community eligibility provide breakfast and lunch to every enrolled student, and are summer meals available?
Enrollment needs
- English learners
- 1.1%
- Students with disabilities
- 29.5%
- Free/reduced-price lunch
- 63.1%
- Lunch program
- Yes under Community Eligibility Option (CEO)
Reported support staff
- Counselors (FTE)
- 2
- Nurses (FTE)
- 1
- Psychologists (FTE)
- 0
- Social workers (FTE)
- 1
CRDC 2021–22 full-time-equivalent counts; verify current assignments with the school.
Student demographics
Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment
- White23.8%
- Hispanic56%
- Black14.9%
- Asian1.2%
- American Indian / Alaska Native0%
- Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0.6%
- Multiracial3.6%
Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22. Lunch eligibility: NCES CCD 2024–25. Privacy rules can produce missing values.
Programs reported by the school
AP student enrollment
No students enrolled reported
Gifted and talented
Not reported as offered
Computer science
Not reported as offered
CRDC 2021–22: the AP flag records student enrollment; gifted and computer-science fields describe reported programs/classes. Confirm current courses and eligibility with the school.
Other schools in HILLSBOROUGH
Start with campuses at the same school level or with similar reported enrollment.
HOSPITAL/HOMEBOUND/HOMEBASED PROGRAMS
Other · Grades PK–12
168 reported students
VICTORY CHARTER SCHOOL TAMPA
Other · Grades KG–12
170 reported students
FLORIDA AUTISM CHARTER SCHOOL OF EXCELLENCE
Other · Grades PK–12
152 reported students
SIMMONS CAREER CENTER
Other · Grades PK–12
127 reported students
PRE-K ESE COMMUNITY PEEPS
Other · Grades PK–PK
105 reported students
MEDICAL ACADEMY AT D.W. WATERS
Other · Grades PK–12
95 reported students
