At a glance
Reported students
25
NCES CCD 2024–25
Teachers (FTE)
4
NCES CCD 2024–25
Student–teacher ratio
6.3:1
Calculated; not a class-size measure
Grades served
05–12
NCES preliminary directory 2025–26
School benchmarks
Georgia high enrollment
6th percentile
Compared with 479 same-level schools reporting enrollment.
District median enrollment
14
Savannah Regional Youth Detention Center: 25 reported students.
State peer staffing position
6th percentile
6.3:1 reported; state peer median 15.7:1. Ratio is not class size.
Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22
These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Differences between years can reflect changes in enrollment, staffing, or reporting scope.
- Students
- 32
- Teachers (FTE)
- 6
- Student–teacher ratio
- 5.3:1
What the reported data says about Savannah Regional Youth Detention Center
Savannah Regional Youth Detention Center is a public high school serving grades 05–12 in Savannah. It is one of 28 current school records connected to Department of Juvenile Justice. NCES reports 25 students for 2024–25.
Among 479 high schools in Georgia with comparable records, this school is smaller than the reported median of 1,075 students. Its enrollment is at approximately the 6th percentile for that peer group. Size describes the campus, not instructional quality.
The reported student–teacher ratio is 6.3:1, below the Georgia median of 15.7:1 for the same school level. This ratio uses total enrollment and teacher FTE; it is not an average classroom headcount and can be affected by special programs or part-time staffing.
The largest reported race and ethnicity groups are Black (72%) and White (24%). Students served under IDEA represent 34.4%. These figures help families understand who the school serves; they are not rating inputs.
Questions worth asking Savannah Regional Youth Detention Center
- 1How do the reported 6.3:1 student–teacher ratio and 4 teacher FTE translate into actual class sizes by grade?
- 2Which advanced, gifted, career, arts, and computer-science courses are available this year, and how do students qualify?
- 3What counseling support is available today? The school reported 0.5 counselor FTE in 2021–22.
- 4What meal assistance, transportation, after-school, and family-support services are currently available?
Enrollment needs
- Students with disabilities
- 34.4%
- Free/reduced-price lunch
- 72%
- Lunch program
- No
Reported support staff
- Counselors (FTE)
- 0.5
- Nurses (FTE)
- 0
- Psychologists (FTE)
- 0
- Social workers (FTE)
- 0
CRDC 2021–22 full-time-equivalent counts; verify current assignments with the school.
Student demographics
Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment
- White24%
- Hispanic4%
- Black72%
- Asian0%
- American Indian / Alaska Native0%
- Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0%
- Multiracial0%
Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22. Lunch eligibility: NCES CCD 2024–25. Privacy rules can produce missing values.
Programs reported by the school
Gifted and talented
Not reported as offered
Computer science
Not reported as offered
CRDC 2021–22: the AP flag records student enrollment; gifted and computer-science fields describe reported programs/classes. Confirm current courses and eligibility with the school.
Other schools in Department of Juvenile Justice
Start with campuses at the same school level or with similar reported enrollment.
Atlanta Youth Development Campus
High · Grades 05–12
24 reported students
Augusta Youth Development Campus
High · Grades 05–12
28 reported students
Martha K. Glaze Regional Youth Detention Center
High · Grades 05–12
21 reported students
Metro Regional Youth Detention Center
High · Grades 05–12
19 reported students
Aaron Cohn Regional Youth Detention Center
High · Grades 05–12
19 reported students
Macon Regional Youth Detention Center
High · Grades 05–12
18 reported students
