Skip to content

East Alton-Wood River High Sch

Grades 09–12 · Wood River, IL · NCES 171299001547

At a glance

Reported students

539

NCES CCD 2024–25

Teachers (FTE)

33.05

NCES CCD 2024–25

Student–teacher ratio

16.3:1

Calculated; not a class-size measure

Grades served

09–12

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

School benchmarks

Illinois high enrollment

68th percentile

Compared with 965 same-level schools reporting enrollment.

District median enrollment

539

East Alton-Wood River High Sch: 539 reported students.

State peer staffing position

86th percentile

16.3:1 reported; state peer median 12.6:1. Ratio is not class size.

Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22

These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Differences between years can reflect changes in enrollment, staffing, or reporting scope.

Students
560
Teachers (FTE)
36
Student–teacher ratio
15.6:1

What the reported data says about East Alton-Wood River High Sch

East Alton-Wood River High Sch is a public high school serving grades 09–12 in Wood River. It is one of 1 current school records connected to East Alton-Wood River CHSD 14. NCES reports 539 students for 2024–25.

Among 965 high schools in Illinois with comparable records, this school is larger than the reported median of 254 students. Its enrollment is at approximately the 68th percentile for that peer group. Size describes the campus, not instructional quality.

The reported student–teacher ratio is 16.3:1, above the Illinois median of 12.6:1 for the same school level. This ratio uses total enrollment and teacher FTE; it is not an average classroom headcount and can be affected by special programs or part-time staffing.

The largest reported race and ethnicity groups are White (77.6%) and Black (10.6%). English learners represent 0.5% of enrollment. Students served under IDEA represent 25.5%. These figures help families understand who the school serves; they are not rating inputs.

Questions worth asking East Alton-Wood River High Sch

  1. 1How do the reported 16.3:1 student–teacher ratio and 33.05 teacher FTE translate into actual class sizes by grade?
  2. 2Have the reported academic programs changed since the 2021–22 CRDC collection?
  3. 3What counseling support is available today? The school reported 2 counselor FTE in 2021–22.
  4. 4Does community eligibility provide breakfast and lunch to every enrolled student, and are summer meals available?
Bring the full school visit checklist →

Enrollment needs

English learners
0.5%
Students with disabilities
25.5%
Free/reduced-price lunch
68.5%
Lunch program
Yes under Community Eligibility Option (CEO)

Reported support staff

Counselors (FTE)
2
Nurses (FTE)
1
Psychologists (FTE)
1
Social workers (FTE)
0

CRDC 2021–22 full-time-equivalent counts; verify current assignments with the school.

Student demographics

Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment

  • White77.6%
  • Hispanic3.5%
  • Black10.6%
  • Asian0.2%
  • American Indian / Alaska Native0%
  • Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0%
  • Multiracial7.6%

Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22. Lunch eligibility: NCES CCD 2024–25. Privacy rules can produce missing values.

Programs reported by the school

AP student enrollment

No students enrolled reported

Gifted and talented

Not reported as offered

Computer science

Not reported as offered

CRDC 2021–22: the AP flag records student enrollment; gifted and computer-science fields describe reported programs/classes. Confirm current courses and eligibility with the school.