Skip to content

Gordon Bush Alternative School for Education

Grades 05–12 · E Saint Louis, IL · NCES 171332006013

At a glance

Reported students

0

NCES CCD 2024–25

Teachers (FTE)

16

NCES CCD 2024–25

Student–teacher ratio

0:1

Calculated; not a class-size measure

Grades served

05–12

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

School benchmarks

Illinois high enrollment

27th percentile

Compared with 965 same-level schools reporting enrollment.

District median enrollment

360.5

Gordon Bush Alternative School for Education: 0 reported students.

State peer staffing position

19th percentile

0:1 reported; state peer median 12.6:1. Ratio is not class size.

Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22

These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Differences between years can reflect changes in enrollment, staffing, or reporting scope.

Students
78
Teachers (FTE)
18
Student–teacher ratio
4.3:1

What the reported data says about Gordon Bush Alternative School for Education

Gordon Bush Alternative School for Education is a public high school serving grades 05–12 in E Saint Louis. It is one of 12 current school records connected to East St Louis SD 189. NCES reports 0 students for 2024–25.

Among 965 high schools in Illinois with comparable records, this school is smaller than the reported median of 254 students. Its enrollment is at approximately the 27th percentile for that peer group. Size describes the campus, not instructional quality.

The reported student–teacher ratio is 0:1, below the Illinois median of 12.6:1 for the same school level. This ratio uses total enrollment and teacher FTE; it is not an average classroom headcount and can be affected by special programs or part-time staffing.

The largest reported race and ethnicity groups are Black (98.7%) and multiracial (1.3%). Students served under IDEA represent 10.3%. These figures help families understand who the school serves; they are not rating inputs.

Questions worth asking Gordon Bush Alternative School for Education

  1. 1How do the reported 0:1 student–teacher ratio and 16 teacher FTE translate into actual class sizes by grade?
  2. 2Have the reported academic programs changed since the 2021–22 CRDC collection?
  3. 3What counseling support is available today? The school reported 1 counselor FTE in 2021–22.
  4. 4Does community eligibility provide breakfast and lunch to every enrolled student, and are summer meals available?
Bring the full school visit checklist →

Enrollment needs

Students with disabilities
10.3%
Lunch program
Yes under Community Eligibility Option (CEO)

Reported support staff

Counselors (FTE)
1
Nurses (FTE)
1
Psychologists (FTE)
0
Social workers (FTE)
0

CRDC 2021–22 full-time-equivalent counts; verify current assignments with the school.

Student demographics

Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment

  • White0%
  • Hispanic0%
  • Black98.7%
  • Asian0%
  • American Indian / Alaska Native0%
  • Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0%
  • Multiracial1.3%

Race/ethnicity: CRDC 2021–22. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22. Lunch eligibility: NCES CCD 2024–25. Privacy rules can produce missing values.

Programs reported by the school

AP student enrollment

No students enrolled reported

Gifted and talented

Not reported as offered

Computer science

Not reported as offered

CRDC 2021–22: the AP flag records student enrollment; gifted and computer-science fields describe reported programs/classes. Confirm current courses and eligibility with the school.

Start with campuses at the same school level or with similar reported enrollment.

View all 12 district schools →