At a glance
Reported students
330
NCES CCD 2024–25
Teachers (FTE)
23
NCES CCD 2024–25
Student–teacher ratio
14.3:1
Calculated; not a class-size measure
Grades served
02–03
NCES preliminary directory 2025–26
School benchmarks
Illinois elementary enrollment
42nd percentile
Compared with 2,323 same-level schools reporting enrollment.
District median enrollment
409
Central Elem School: 330 reported students.
State peer staffing position
70th percentile
14.3:1 reported; state peer median 13.1:1. Ratio is not class size.
Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22
These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Differences between years can reflect changes in enrollment, staffing, or reporting scope.
- Students
- 305
- Teachers (FTE)
- 19.5
- Student–teacher ratio
- 15.6:1
What the reported data says about Central Elem School
Central Elem School is a public elementary school serving grades 02–03 in Rochelle. It is one of 5 current school records connected to Rochelle CCSD 231. NCES reports 330 students for 2024–25.
Among 2,323 elementary schools in Illinois with comparable records, this school is close in size to the reported median of 365 students. Its enrollment is at approximately the 42nd percentile for that peer group. Size describes the campus, not instructional quality.
The reported student–teacher ratio is 14.3:1, close to the Illinois median of 13.1:1 for the same school level. This ratio uses total enrollment and teacher FTE; it is not an average classroom headcount and can be affected by special programs or part-time staffing.
The largest reported race and ethnicity groups are Hispanic or Latino (49.1%) and White (43.9%). English learners represent 25.9% of enrollment. Students served under IDEA represent 17.4%. These figures help families understand who the school serves; they are not rating inputs.
Questions worth asking Central Elem School
- 1How do the reported 14.3:1 student–teacher ratio and 23 teacher FTE translate into actual class sizes by grade?
- 2Which advanced, gifted, career, arts, and computer-science courses are available this year, and how do students qualify?
- 3What counseling support is available today? The school reported 0.5 counselor FTE in 2021–22.
- 4Does community eligibility provide breakfast and lunch to every enrolled student, and are summer meals available?
Enrollment needs
- English learners
- 25.9%
- Students with disabilities
- 17.4%
- Free/reduced-price lunch
- 57.3%
- Lunch program
- Yes under Community Eligibility Option (CEO)
Reported support staff
- Counselors (FTE)
- 0.5
- Nurses (FTE)
- 1
- Psychologists (FTE)
- 0.25
- Social workers (FTE)
- 0.25
CRDC 2021–22 full-time-equivalent counts; verify current assignments with the school.
Student demographics
Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment
- White43.9%
- Hispanic49.1%
- Black2.7%
- Asian0.3%
- American Indian / Alaska Native0%
- Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0%
- Multiracial3.9%
Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22. Lunch eligibility: NCES CCD 2024–25. Privacy rules can produce missing values.
Programs reported by the school
Gifted and talented
Not reported as offered
CRDC 2021–22: the AP flag records student enrollment; gifted and computer-science fields describe reported programs/classes. Confirm current courses and eligibility with the school.
Other schools in Rochelle CCSD 231
Start with campuses at the same school level or with similar reported enrollment.
Tilton Elem School
Elementary · Grades 04–05
288 reported students
Lincoln Elem School
Elementary · Grades KG–01
491 reported students
Rochelle Middle School
Middle · Grades 06–08
488 reported students
May Elementary-Stepping Stones Preschool
Other · Grades PK–PK
Enrollment not reported
