At a glance
Reported students
113
NCES CCD 2024–25
Teachers (FTE)
9.17
NCES CCD 2024–25
Student–teacher ratio
12.3:1
Calculated; not a class-size measure
Grades served
PK–PK
NCES preliminary directory 2025–26
School benchmarks
Indiana other enrollment
46th percentile
Compared with 80 same-level schools reporting enrollment.
District median enrollment
433
Carrie Gosch PK Center: 113 reported students.
State peer staffing position
43rd percentile
12.3:1 reported; state peer median 13.1:1. Ratio is not class size.
Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22
These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Differences between years can reflect changes in enrollment, staffing, or reporting scope.
- Students
- Not reported
- Teachers (FTE)
- 11.85
- Student–teacher ratio
- Not reported
What the reported data says about Carrie Gosch PK Center
Carrie Gosch PK Center is a public combined / other school serving grades PK–PK in East Chicago. It is one of 7 current school records connected to School City of East Chicago. NCES reports 113 students for 2024–25.
Among 80 combined / other schools in Indiana with comparable records, this school is smaller than the reported median of 126 students. Its enrollment is at approximately the 46th percentile for that peer group. Size describes the campus, not instructional quality.
The reported student–teacher ratio is 12.3:1, close to the Indiana median of 13.1:1 for the same school level. This ratio uses total enrollment and teacher FTE; it is not an average classroom headcount and can be affected by special programs or part-time staffing.
The largest reported race and ethnicity groups are Hispanic or Latino (61.1%) and Black (33.6%). These figures help families understand who the school serves; they are not rating inputs.
Questions worth asking Carrie Gosch PK Center
- 1How do the reported 12.3:1 student–teacher ratio and 9.17 teacher FTE translate into actual class sizes by grade?
- 2Which advanced, gifted, career, arts, and computer-science courses are available this year, and how do students qualify?
- 3What counseling support is available today? The school reported 0 counselor FTE in 2021–22.
- 4Does community eligibility provide breakfast and lunch to every enrolled student, and are summer meals available?
Enrollment needs
- Free/reduced-price lunch
- 62.8%
- Lunch program
- Yes under Community Eligibility Option (CEO)
Reported support staff
- Counselors (FTE)
- 0
- Nurses (FTE)
- 1
- Psychologists (FTE)
- 0
- Social workers (FTE)
- 1
CRDC 2021–22 full-time-equivalent counts; verify current assignments with the school.
Student demographics
Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment
- White1.8%
- Hispanic61.1%
- Black33.6%
- Asian0%
- American Indian / Alaska Native1.8%
- Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0%
- Multiracial1.8%
Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22. Lunch eligibility: NCES CCD 2024–25. Privacy rules can produce missing values.
Programs reported by the school
Gifted and talented
Not reported as offered
CRDC 2021–22: the AP flag records student enrollment; gifted and computer-science fields describe reported programs/classes. Confirm current courses and eligibility with the school.
Other schools in School City of East Chicago
Start with campuses at the same school level or with similar reported enrollment.
Abraham Lincoln Elementary School
Elementary · Grades KG–06
282 reported students
Benjamin Harrison Elementary Sch
Elementary · Grades KG–06
400 reported students
George Washington Elementary Sch
Elementary · Grades KG–06
433 reported students
Joseph Block Middle School
Middle · Grades 07–08
436 reported students
William McKinley Elementary School
Elementary · Grades KG–06
509 reported students
East Chicago Central High School
High · Grades 09–12
1,052 reported students
