Skip to content

Hays Virtual School

Grades 01–12 · Hays, KS · NCES 200702002163

Virtual

At a glance

Reported students

262

NCES CCD 2024–25

Teachers (FTE)

1

NCES CCD 2024–25

Student–teacher ratio

262:1

Calculated; not a class-size measure

Grades served

01–12

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

School benchmarks

Kansas other enrollment

69th percentile

Compared with 39 same-level schools reporting enrollment.

District median enrollment

395.5

Hays Virtual School: 262 reported students.

State peer staffing position

96th percentile

262:1 reported; state peer median 21.4:1. Ratio is not class size.

Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22

These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Differences between years can reflect changes in enrollment, staffing, or reporting scope.

Students
60
Teachers (FTE)
2
Student–teacher ratio
30:1

What the reported data says about Hays Virtual School

Hays Virtual School is a public combined / other school serving grades 01–12 in Hays. It is one of 6 current school records connected to Hays. NCES reports 262 students for 2024–25.

Among 39 combined / other schools in Kansas with comparable records, this school is larger than the reported median of 109 students. Its enrollment is at approximately the 69th percentile for that peer group. Size describes the campus, not instructional quality.

The reported student–teacher ratio is 262:1, above the Kansas median of 21.4:1 for the same school level. This ratio uses total enrollment and teacher FTE; it is not an average classroom headcount and can be affected by special programs or part-time staffing.

The largest reported race and ethnicity groups are White (94.7%) and Hispanic or Latino (2.3%). Students served under IDEA represent 8.3%. These figures help families understand who the school serves; they are not rating inputs.

Questions worth asking Hays Virtual School

  1. 1How do the reported 262:1 student–teacher ratio and 1 teacher FTE translate into actual class sizes by grade?
  2. 2Have the reported academic programs changed since the 2021–22 CRDC collection?
  3. 3What counseling support is available today? The school reported 0 counselor FTE in 2021–22.
  4. 4What meal assistance, transportation, after-school, and family-support services are currently available?
Bring the full school visit checklist →

Enrollment needs

Students with disabilities
8.3%
Lunch program
No

Reported support staff

Counselors (FTE)
0
Nurses (FTE)
0
Psychologists (FTE)
0
Social workers (FTE)
0

CRDC 2021–22 full-time-equivalent counts; verify current assignments with the school.

Student demographics

Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment

  • White94.7%
  • Hispanic2.3%
  • Black0.4%
  • Asian0%
  • American Indian / Alaska Native0%
  • Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0.4%
  • Multiracial2.3%

Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22. Lunch eligibility: NCES CCD 2024–25. Privacy rules can produce missing values.

Programs reported by the school

AP student enrollment

No students enrolled reported

Gifted and talented

Not reported as offered

Computer science

Not reported as offered

CRDC 2021–22: the AP flag records student enrollment; gifted and computer-science fields describe reported programs/classes. Confirm current courses and eligibility with the school.

Start with campuses at the same school level or with similar reported enrollment.

View all 6 district schools →