At a glance
Reported students
720
NCES CCD 2024–25
Teachers (FTE)
70.91
NCES CCD 2024–25
Student–teacher ratio
10.2:1
Calculated; not a class-size measure
Grades served
07–12
NCES preliminary directory 2025–26
School benchmarks
Massachusetts high enrollment
54th percentile
Compared with 378 same-level schools reporting enrollment.
District median enrollment
361
English High School: 720 reported students.
State peer staffing position
29th percentile
10.2:1 reported; state peer median 11.3:1. Ratio is not class size.
Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22
These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Differences between years can reflect changes in enrollment, staffing, or reporting scope.
- Students
- 525
- Teachers (FTE)
- 44.5
- Student–teacher ratio
- 11.8:1
What the reported data says about English High School
English High School is a public high school serving grades 07–12 in Boston. It is one of 105 current school records connected to Boston. NCES reports 720 students for 2024–25.
Among 378 high schools in Massachusetts with comparable records, this school is close in size to the reported median of 675.5 students. Its enrollment is at approximately the 54th percentile for that peer group. Size describes the campus, not instructional quality.
The reported student–teacher ratio is 10.2:1, close to the Massachusetts median of 11.3:1 for the same school level. This ratio uses total enrollment and teacher FTE; it is not an average classroom headcount and can be affected by special programs or part-time staffing.
The largest reported race and ethnicity groups are Hispanic or Latino (65.8%) and Black (27.6%). English learners represent 34.1% of enrollment. Students served under IDEA represent 26.3%. These figures help families understand who the school serves; they are not rating inputs.
The 2021–22 civil-rights collection reports AP student enrollment. The school reported 5 AP courses. Program availability changes, so families should confirm the current catalog and participation rules directly with the school.
Questions worth asking English High School
- 1How do the reported 10.2:1 student–teacher ratio and 70.91 teacher FTE translate into actual class sizes by grade?
- 2Have the reported academic programs changed since the 2021–22 CRDC collection?
- 3What counseling support is available today? The school reported 3 counselor FTE in 2021–22.
- 4Does community eligibility provide breakfast and lunch to every enrolled student, and are summer meals available?
Enrollment needs
- English learners
- 34.1%
- Students with disabilities
- 26.3%
- Lunch program
- Yes under Community Eligibility Option (CEO)
Reported support staff
- Counselors (FTE)
- 3
- Nurses (FTE)
- 1.5
- Psychologists (FTE)
- 0
- Social workers (FTE)
- 5.8
CRDC 2021–22 full-time-equivalent counts; verify current assignments with the school.
Student demographics
Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment
- White3.2%
- Hispanic65.8%
- Black27.6%
- Asian1%
- American Indian / Alaska Native0%
- Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0.1%
- Multiracial2.2%
Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22. Lunch eligibility: NCES CCD 2024–25. Privacy rules can produce missing values.
Programs reported by the school
AP student enrollment
Students enrolled
5 distinct courses reported
Gifted and talented
Not reported as offered
Computer science
Not reported as offered
CRDC 2021–22: the AP flag records student enrollment; gifted and computer-science fields describe reported programs/classes. Confirm current courses and eligibility with the school.
Other schools in Boston
Start with campuses at the same school level or with similar reported enrollment.
New Mission High School
High · Grades 07–12
715 reported students
Charlestown High School
High · Grades 07–12
754 reported students
Brighton High School
High · Grades 07–12
667 reported students
Ruth Batson Academy
High · Grades 07–12
604 reported students
TechBoston Academy
High · Grades 07–12
850 reported students
Dearborn STEM Academy
High · Grades 07–12
565 reported students
