Skip to content

Phoenix Academy Public Charter High School Springfield

Grades 09–12 · Springfield, MA · NCES 250055502821

Charter

At a glance

Reported students

158

NCES CCD 2024–25

Teachers (FTE)

11.5

NCES CCD 2024–25

Student–teacher ratio

13.7:1

Calculated; not a class-size measure

Grades served

09–12

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

School benchmarks

Massachusetts high enrollment

12th percentile

Compared with 378 same-level schools reporting enrollment.

District median enrollment

158

Phoenix Academy Public Charter High School Springfield: 158 reported students.

State peer staffing position

85th percentile

13.7:1 reported; state peer median 11.3:1. Ratio is not class size.

Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22

These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Differences between years can reflect changes in enrollment, staffing, or reporting scope.

Students
175
Teachers (FTE)
5
Student–teacher ratio
35:1

What the reported data says about Phoenix Academy Public Charter High School Springfield

Phoenix Academy Public Charter High School Springfield is a public high school serving grades 09–12 in Springfield. It is one of 1 current school records connected to Phoenix Academy Public Charter High School Springfield (Dis. NCES reports 158 students for 2024–25.

Among 378 high schools in Massachusetts with comparable records, this school is smaller than the reported median of 675.5 students. Its enrollment is at approximately the 12th percentile for that peer group. Size describes the campus, not instructional quality.

The reported student–teacher ratio is 13.7:1, above the Massachusetts median of 11.3:1 for the same school level. This ratio uses total enrollment and teacher FTE; it is not an average classroom headcount and can be affected by special programs or part-time staffing.

The largest reported race and ethnicity groups are Hispanic or Latino (73.4%) and Black (15.8%). English learners represent 14.3% of enrollment. Students served under IDEA represent 24%. These figures help families understand who the school serves; they are not rating inputs.

Questions worth asking Phoenix Academy Public Charter High School Springfield

  1. 1How do the reported 13.7:1 student–teacher ratio and 11.5 teacher FTE translate into actual class sizes by grade?
  2. 2Have the reported academic programs changed since the 2021–22 CRDC collection?
  3. 3What counseling support is available today? The school reported 0 counselor FTE in 2021–22.
  4. 4Does community eligibility provide breakfast and lunch to every enrolled student, and are summer meals available?
Bring the full school visit checklist →

Enrollment needs

English learners
14.3%
Students with disabilities
24%
Lunch program
Yes under Community Eligibility Option (CEO)

Reported support staff

Counselors (FTE)
0
Nurses (FTE)
0.33
Psychologists (FTE)
0
Social workers (FTE)
2

CRDC 2021–22 full-time-equivalent counts; verify current assignments with the school.

Student demographics

Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment

  • White4.4%
  • Hispanic73.4%
  • Black15.8%
  • Asian0%
  • American Indian / Alaska Native0.6%
  • Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0%
  • Multiracial5.1%

Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22. Lunch eligibility: NCES CCD 2024–25. Privacy rules can produce missing values.

Programs reported by the school

AP student enrollment

No students enrolled reported

Gifted and talented

Not reported as offered

Computer science

Not reported as offered

CRDC 2021–22: the AP flag records student enrollment; gifted and computer-science fields describe reported programs/classes. Confirm current courses and eligibility with the school.