At a glance
Reported students
349
NCES CCD 2024–25
Teachers (FTE)
23
NCES CCD 2024–25
Student–teacher ratio
15.2:1
Calculated; not a class-size measure
Grades served
PK–PK
NCES preliminary directory 2025–26
School benchmarks
Massachusetts other enrollment
83rd percentile
Compared with 109 same-level schools reporting enrollment.
District median enrollment
402
Head Start: 349 reported students.
State peer staffing position
73rd percentile
15.2:1 reported; state peer median 12.2:1. Ratio is not class size.
Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22
These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Differences between years can reflect changes in enrollment, staffing, or reporting scope.
- Students
- Not reported
- Teachers (FTE)
- 45.8
- Student–teacher ratio
- Not reported
What the reported data says about Head Start
Head Start is a public combined / other school serving grades PK–PK in Worcester. It is one of 47 current school records connected to Worcester. NCES reports 349 students for 2024–25.
Among 109 combined / other schools in Massachusetts with comparable records, this school is larger than the reported median of 116 students. Its enrollment is at approximately the 83rd percentile for that peer group. Size describes the campus, not instructional quality.
The reported student–teacher ratio is 15.2:1, above the Massachusetts median of 12.2:1 for the same school level. This ratio uses total enrollment and teacher FTE; it is not an average classroom headcount and can be affected by special programs or part-time staffing.
The largest reported race and ethnicity groups are Hispanic or Latino (51.6%) and Black (28.7%). These figures help families understand who the school serves; they are not rating inputs.
Questions worth asking Head Start
- 1How do the reported 15.2:1 student–teacher ratio and 23 teacher FTE translate into actual class sizes by grade?
- 2Which advanced, gifted, career, arts, and computer-science courses are available this year, and how do students qualify?
- 3What counseling support is available today? The school reported 0 counselor FTE in 2021–22.
- 4Does community eligibility provide breakfast and lunch to every enrolled student, and are summer meals available?
Enrollment needs
- Lunch program
- Yes under Community Eligibility Option (CEO)
Reported support staff
- Counselors (FTE)
- 0
- Nurses (FTE)
- 3
- Psychologists (FTE)
- 0
- Social workers (FTE)
- 0
CRDC 2021–22 full-time-equivalent counts; verify current assignments with the school.
Student demographics
Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment
- White14.3%
- Hispanic51.6%
- Black28.7%
- Asian4.3%
- American Indian / Alaska Native0%
- Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0.3%
- Multiracial0.9%
Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22. Lunch eligibility: NCES CCD 2024–25. Privacy rules can produce missing values.
Programs reported by the school
Gifted and talented
Not reported as offered
CRDC 2021–22: the AP flag records student enrollment; gifted and computer-science fields describe reported programs/classes. Confirm current courses and eligibility with the school.
Other schools in Worcester
Start with campuses at the same school level or with similar reported enrollment.
West Tatnuck
Elementary · Grades PK–06
343 reported students
Goddard School/Science Technical
Elementary · Grades PK–06
359 reported students
Jacob Hiatt Magnet
Elementary · Grades PK–06
367 reported students
Canterbury
Elementary · Grades PK–06
329 reported students
Worcester Arts Magnet School
Elementary · Grades PK–06
372 reported students
Tatnuck
Elementary · Grades PK–06
376 reported students
