At a glance
Reported students
115
NCES CCD 2024–25
Teachers (FTE)
1
NCES CCD 2024–25
Student–teacher ratio
115:1
Calculated; not a class-size measure
Grades served
KG–12
NCES preliminary directory 2025–26
School benchmarks
Michigan other enrollment
48th percentile
Compared with 344 same-level schools reporting enrollment.
District median enrollment
341
Big Rapids Virtual School: 115 reported students.
State peer staffing position
99th percentile
115:1 reported; state peer median 10.9:1. Ratio is not class size.
Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22
These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Differences between years can reflect changes in enrollment, staffing, or reporting scope.
- Students
- 137
- Teachers (FTE)
- 2
- Student–teacher ratio
- 68.5:1
What the reported data says about Big Rapids Virtual School
Big Rapids Virtual School is a public combined / other school serving grades KG–12 in BIG RAPIDS. It is one of 6 current school records connected to Big Rapids Public Schools. NCES reports 115 students for 2024–25.
Among 344 combined / other schools in Michigan with comparable records, this school is close in size to the reported median of 123 students. Its enrollment is at approximately the 48th percentile for that peer group. Size describes the campus, not instructional quality.
The reported student–teacher ratio is 115:1, above the Michigan median of 10.9:1 for the same school level. This ratio uses total enrollment and teacher FTE; it is not an average classroom headcount and can be affected by special programs or part-time staffing.
The largest reported race and ethnicity groups are White (87%) and Black (4.3%). Students served under IDEA represent 19%. These figures help families understand who the school serves; they are not rating inputs.
Questions worth asking Big Rapids Virtual School
- 1How do the reported 115:1 student–teacher ratio and 1 teacher FTE translate into actual class sizes by grade?
- 2Have the reported academic programs changed since the 2021–22 CRDC collection?
- 3What counseling support is available today? The school reported 0 counselor FTE in 2021–22.
- 4Does community eligibility provide breakfast and lunch to every enrolled student, and are summer meals available?
Enrollment needs
- Students with disabilities
- 19%
- Free/reduced-price lunch
- 70.4%
- Lunch program
- Yes under Community Eligibility Option (CEO)
Reported support staff
- Counselors (FTE)
- 0
- Nurses (FTE)
- 0
- Psychologists (FTE)
- 0
- Social workers (FTE)
- 0
CRDC 2021–22 full-time-equivalent counts; verify current assignments with the school.
Student demographics
Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment
- White87%
- Hispanic1.7%
- Black4.3%
- Asian0%
- American Indian / Alaska Native2.6%
- Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0%
- Multiracial4.3%
Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22. Lunch eligibility: NCES CCD 2024–25. Privacy rules can produce missing values.
Programs reported by the school
AP student enrollment
No students enrolled reported
Gifted and talented
Not reported as offered
Computer science
Not reported as offered
CRDC 2021–22: the AP flag records student enrollment; gifted and computer-science fields describe reported programs/classes. Confirm current courses and eligibility with the school.
Other schools in Big Rapids Public Schools
Start with campuses at the same school level or with similar reported enrollment.
Eastwood Elementary
Elementary · Grades PK–KG
209 reported students
Brookside Elementary School
Elementary · Grades PK–04
336 reported students
Riverview Elementary School
Elementary · Grades KG–04
346 reported students
Big Rapids Middle School
Middle · Grades 05–08
644 reported students
Big Rapids High School
High · Grades 09–12
755 reported students
