At a glance
Reported students
49
NCES CCD 2024–25
Teachers (FTE)
2.4
NCES CCD 2024–25
Student–teacher ratio
20.4:1
Calculated; not a class-size measure
Grades served
06–12
NCES preliminary directory 2025–26
School benchmarks
Michigan high enrollment
22nd percentile
Compared with 978 same-level schools reporting enrollment.
District median enrollment
224
Pathfinders Alternative Ed: 49 reported students.
State peer staffing position
74th percentile
20.4:1 reported; state peer median 18.1:1. Ratio is not class size.
Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22
These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Differences between years can reflect changes in enrollment, staffing, or reporting scope.
- Students
- 46
- Teachers (FTE)
- 1.5
- Student–teacher ratio
- 30.7:1
What the reported data says about Pathfinders Alternative Ed
Pathfinders Alternative Ed is a public high school serving grades 06–12 in DOWAGIAC. It is one of 7 current school records connected to Dowagiac Union School District. NCES reports 49 students for 2024–25.
Among 978 high schools in Michigan with comparable records, this school is smaller than the reported median of 280 students. Its enrollment is at approximately the 22nd percentile for that peer group. Size describes the campus, not instructional quality.
The reported student–teacher ratio is 20.4:1, above the Michigan median of 18.1:1 for the same school level. This ratio uses total enrollment and teacher FTE; it is not an average classroom headcount and can be affected by special programs or part-time staffing.
The largest reported race and ethnicity groups are White (57.1%) and multiracial (18.4%). English learners represent 8.7% of enrollment. Students served under IDEA represent 13%. These figures help families understand who the school serves; they are not rating inputs.
Questions worth asking Pathfinders Alternative Ed
- 1How do the reported 20.4:1 student–teacher ratio and 2.4 teacher FTE translate into actual class sizes by grade?
- 2Have the reported academic programs changed since the 2021–22 CRDC collection?
- 3What counseling support is available today? The school reported 0 counselor FTE in 2021–22.
- 4Does community eligibility provide breakfast and lunch to every enrolled student, and are summer meals available?
Enrollment needs
- English learners
- 8.7%
- Students with disabilities
- 13%
- Free/reduced-price lunch
- 81.6%
- Lunch program
- Yes under Community Eligibility Option (CEO)
Reported support staff
- Counselors (FTE)
- 0
- Nurses (FTE)
- 0.14
- Psychologists (FTE)
- 0
- Social workers (FTE)
- 0
CRDC 2021–22 full-time-equivalent counts; verify current assignments with the school.
Student demographics
Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment
- White57.1%
- Hispanic12.2%
- Black12.2%
- Asian0%
- American Indian / Alaska Native0%
- Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0%
- Multiracial18.4%
Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22. Lunch eligibility: NCES CCD 2024–25. Privacy rules can produce missing values.
Programs reported by the school
AP student enrollment
No students enrolled reported
Gifted and talented
Not reported as offered
Computer science
Not reported as offered
CRDC 2021–22: the AP flag records student enrollment; gifted and computer-science fields describe reported programs/classes. Confirm current courses and eligibility with the school.
Other schools in Dowagiac Union School District
Start with campuses at the same school level or with similar reported enrollment.
Union High School
High · Grades 09–12
507 reported students
Sister Lakes Elementary School
Elementary · Grades KG–05
166 reported students
Kincheloe Elementary School
Elementary · Grades KG–05
214 reported students
Patrick Hamilton Elementary
Elementary · Grades KG–05
224 reported students
Justus Gage Elementary School
Elementary · Grades PK–05
262 reported students
Dowagiac Middle School
Middle · Grades 06–08
393 reported students
