At a glance
Reported students
385
NCES CCD 2024–25
Teachers (FTE)
28.8
NCES CCD 2024–25
Student–teacher ratio
13.4:1
Calculated; not a class-size measure
Grades served
09–12
NCES preliminary directory 2025–26
School benchmarks
Michigan high enrollment
60th percentile
Compared with 978 same-level schools reporting enrollment.
District median enrollment
259
Ottawa Hills High School: 385 reported students.
State peer staffing position
21st percentile
13.4:1 reported; state peer median 18.1:1. Ratio is not class size.
Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22
These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Differences between years can reflect changes in enrollment, staffing, or reporting scope.
- Students
- 381
- Teachers (FTE)
- 20
- Student–teacher ratio
- 19.1:1
What the reported data says about Ottawa Hills High School
Ottawa Hills High School is a public high school serving grades 09–12 in GRAND RAPIDS. It is one of 46 current school records connected to Grand Rapids Public Schools. NCES reports 385 students for 2024–25.
Among 978 high schools in Michigan with comparable records, this school is larger than the reported median of 280 students. Its enrollment is at approximately the 60th percentile for that peer group. Size describes the campus, not instructional quality.
The reported student–teacher ratio is 13.4:1, below the Michigan median of 18.1:1 for the same school level. This ratio uses total enrollment and teacher FTE; it is not an average classroom headcount and can be affected by special programs or part-time staffing.
The largest reported race and ethnicity groups are Black (68.1%) and Hispanic or Latino (17.9%). English learners represent 11% of enrollment. Students served under IDEA represent 17.1%. These figures help families understand who the school serves; they are not rating inputs.
The 2021–22 civil-rights collection reports AP student enrollment. The school reported 1 AP course. Program availability changes, so families should confirm the current catalog and participation rules directly with the school.
Questions worth asking Ottawa Hills High School
- 1How do the reported 13.4:1 student–teacher ratio and 28.8 teacher FTE translate into actual class sizes by grade?
- 2Have the reported academic programs changed since the 2021–22 CRDC collection?
- 3What counseling support is available today? The school reported 1 counselor FTE in 2021–22.
- 4Does community eligibility provide breakfast and lunch to every enrolled student, and are summer meals available?
Enrollment needs
- English learners
- 11%
- Students with disabilities
- 17.1%
- Free/reduced-price lunch
- 83.6%
- Lunch program
- Yes under Community Eligibility Option (CEO)
Reported support staff
- Counselors (FTE)
- 1
- Nurses (FTE)
- 0.7
- Psychologists (FTE)
- 0
- Social workers (FTE)
- 0
CRDC 2021–22 full-time-equivalent counts; verify current assignments with the school.
Student demographics
Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment
- White7.5%
- Hispanic17.9%
- Black68.1%
- Asian0.3%
- American Indian / Alaska Native0%
- Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0%
- Multiracial6.2%
Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22. Lunch eligibility: NCES CCD 2024–25. Privacy rules can produce missing values.
Programs reported by the school
AP student enrollment
Students enrolled
1 distinct course reported
Gifted and talented
Not reported as offered
Computer science
Not reported as offered
CRDC 2021–22: the AP flag records student enrollment; gifted and computer-science fields describe reported programs/classes. Confirm current courses and eligibility with the school.
Other schools in Grand Rapids Public Schools
Start with campuses at the same school level or with similar reported enrollment.
Innovation Central High
High · Grades 09–12
386 reported students
Southwest MiddleHigh Academia Bilingue
High · Grades 07–12
378 reported students
CA Frost Environmental Science Academy Middle High School
High · Grades 06–12
309 reported students
Grand Rapids University Preparatory Academy
High · Grades 06–12
494 reported students
Grand Rapids Public Museum High
High · Grades 09–12
267 reported students
Grand Rapids Montessori MiddleHigh
High · Grades 07–12
184 reported students
