At a glance
Reported students
19
NCES CCD 2024–25
Teachers (FTE)
0.95
NCES CCD 2024–25
Student–teacher ratio
20:1
Calculated; not a class-size measure
Grades served
09–12
NCES preliminary directory 2025–26
School benchmarks
Michigan high enrollment
14th percentile
Compared with 978 same-level schools reporting enrollment.
District median enrollment
433
Unity Alternative School: 19 reported students.
State peer staffing position
71st percentile
20:1 reported; state peer median 18.1:1. Ratio is not class size.
Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22
These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Differences between years can reflect changes in enrollment, staffing, or reporting scope.
- Students
- 15
- Teachers (FTE)
- 1
- Student–teacher ratio
- 15:1
What the reported data says about Unity Alternative School
Unity Alternative School is a public high school serving grades 09–12 in LOWELL. It is one of 7 current school records connected to Lowell Area Schools. NCES reports 19 students for 2024–25.
Among 978 high schools in Michigan with comparable records, this school is smaller than the reported median of 280 students. Its enrollment is at approximately the 14th percentile for that peer group. Size describes the campus, not instructional quality.
The reported student–teacher ratio is 20:1, above the Michigan median of 18.1:1 for the same school level. This ratio uses total enrollment and teacher FTE; it is not an average classroom headcount and can be affected by special programs or part-time staffing.
The largest reported race and ethnicity groups are White (89.5%) and Hispanic or Latino (5.3%). These figures help families understand who the school serves; they are not rating inputs.
Questions worth asking Unity Alternative School
- 1How do the reported 20:1 student–teacher ratio and 0.95 teacher FTE translate into actual class sizes by grade?
- 2Have the reported academic programs changed since the 2021–22 CRDC collection?
- 3What counseling support is available today? The school reported 0.1 counselor FTE in 2021–22.
- 4What meal assistance, transportation, after-school, and family-support services are currently available?
Enrollment needs
- Free/reduced-price lunch
- 42.1%
- Lunch program
- Yes participating without using any Provision or the CEO
Reported support staff
- Counselors (FTE)
- 0.1
- Nurses (FTE)
- 0.1
- Psychologists (FTE)
- 0.1
- Social workers (FTE)
- 0.1
CRDC 2021–22 full-time-equivalent counts; verify current assignments with the school.
Student demographics
Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment
- White89.5%
- Hispanic5.3%
- Black0%
- Asian0%
- American Indian / Alaska Native0%
- Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0%
- Multiracial5.3%
Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22. Lunch eligibility: NCES CCD 2024–25. Privacy rules can produce missing values.
Programs reported by the school
AP student enrollment
No students enrolled reported
Gifted and talented
Not reported as offered
Computer science
Not reported as offered
CRDC 2021–22: the AP flag records student enrollment; gifted and computer-science fields describe reported programs/classes. Confirm current courses and eligibility with the school.
Other schools in Lowell Area Schools
Start with campuses at the same school level or with similar reported enrollment.
Lowell Senior High School
High · Grades 09–12
1,058 reported students
Bushnell Elementary School
Elementary · Grades PK–01
253 reported students
Alto Elementary School
Elementary · Grades PK–05
417 reported students
Murray Lake Elementary
Elementary · Grades PK–05
433 reported students
Cherry Creek Elementary School
Elementary · Grades 02–05
485 reported students
Lowell Middle School
Middle · Grades 06–08
790 reported students
