Skip to content

ALC Independent Study

Grades 09–12 · DULUTH, MN · NCES 271104005459

At a glance

Reported students

235

NCES CCD 2024–25

Teachers (FTE)

5.88

NCES CCD 2024–25

Student–teacher ratio

40:1

Calculated; not a class-size measure

Grades served

09–12

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

School benchmarks

Minnesota high enrollment

68th percentile

Compared with 996 same-level schools reporting enrollment.

District median enrollment

240

ALC Independent Study: 235 reported students.

State peer staffing position

98th percentile

40:1 reported; state peer median 14.3:1. Ratio is not class size.

Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22

These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Differences between years can reflect changes in enrollment, staffing, or reporting scope.

Students
220
Teachers (FTE)
15.9
Student–teacher ratio
13.8:1

What the reported data says about ALC Independent Study

ALC Independent Study is a public high school serving grades 09–12 in DULUTH. It is one of 30 current school records connected to DULUTH PUBLIC SCHOOL DISTRICT. NCES reports 235 students for 2024–25.

Among 996 high schools in Minnesota with comparable records, this school is larger than the reported median of 84 students. Its enrollment is at approximately the 68th percentile for that peer group. Size describes the campus, not instructional quality.

The reported student–teacher ratio is 40:1, above the Minnesota median of 14.3:1 for the same school level. This ratio uses total enrollment and teacher FTE; it is not an average classroom headcount and can be affected by special programs or part-time staffing.

The largest reported race and ethnicity groups are White (66%) and multiracial (11.9%). English learners represent 0.5% of enrollment. Students served under IDEA represent 4.1%. These figures help families understand who the school serves; they are not rating inputs.

Questions worth asking ALC Independent Study

  1. 1How do the reported 40:1 student–teacher ratio and 5.88 teacher FTE translate into actual class sizes by grade?
  2. 2Have the reported academic programs changed since the 2021–22 CRDC collection?
  3. 3What counseling support is available today? The school reported 0 counselor FTE in 2021–22.
  4. 4What meal assistance, transportation, after-school, and family-support services are currently available?
Bring the full school visit checklist →

Enrollment needs

English learners
0.5%
Students with disabilities
4.1%
Free/reduced-price lunch
58.7%
Lunch program
No

Reported support staff

Counselors (FTE)
0
Nurses (FTE)
0
Psychologists (FTE)
0
Social workers (FTE)
0

CRDC 2021–22 full-time-equivalent counts; verify current assignments with the school.

Student demographics

Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment

  • White66%
  • Hispanic7.7%
  • Black4.7%
  • Asian0%
  • American Indian / Alaska Native9.8%
  • Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0%
  • Multiracial11.9%

Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22. Lunch eligibility: NCES CCD 2024–25. Privacy rules can produce missing values.

Programs reported by the school

AP student enrollment

No students enrolled reported

Gifted and talented

Not reported as offered

Computer science

Not reported as offered

CRDC 2021–22: the AP flag records student enrollment; gifted and computer-science fields describe reported programs/classes. Confirm current courses and eligibility with the school.

Start with campuses at the same school level or with similar reported enrollment.

View all 30 district schools →