Skip to content

Canton Public Schools

NCES agency ID 2800900 · Regular public school district that is not a component of a supervisory union

At a glance

Reported students

3,157

NCES CCD 2024–25

Open schools

9

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

Student–teacher ratio

14.7:1

Calculated from NCES 2024–25 enrollment and teacher FTE

Spending per pupil

$12,389

Current expenditure · FY 2023 F-33

Instruction per pupil

$6,675

Calculated from FY 2023 F-33

Grades served

PK–13

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22

These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Agency figures aggregate matched current school records; they may not cover the complete historical district.

Students
2,855
Teachers (FTE)
203
Student–teacher ratio
14.1:1

What current records say about Canton Public Schools

Canton Public Schools operates 9 current public-school records serving grades PK–13 in Canton, Mississippi. NCES reports 3,157 students and 215 classroom teacher FTE for 2024–25.

Within Mississippi agencies of the same NCES type, it ranks 37 of 138 with reported enrollment. That position describes scale only—it does not say whether individual schools are a good fit for a particular student.

FY 2023 finance records show $12,389 in current expenditure per pupil and $6,675 per pupil assigned to instruction. Within the same NCES agency type, this places reported current spending 74 of 138 in Mississippi. Local wages, transportation, special education, facilities, and agency responsibilities all affect this comparison.

Compare Canton Public Schools with regular districts in the Mississippi rankings →

Reported needs and resources

English learners
13.9%
Students with disabilities (IDEA)
0.7%
Classroom teachers (FTE)
215
Current expenditure (FY 2023)
$39,224,000

Context measures describe who a district serves and its resources. They are not negative rating inputs.

Canton Public Schools

Canton, Mississippi

NCES EDGE 2024–25 · 32.6194, -90.0268

View office location on a map →

An office location does not show attendance boundaries. Ask the district to confirm the school assignment for a specific home address.

Enrollment questions to ask →

Student demographics

Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment

  • White0.6%
  • Hispanic17.9%
  • Black77.3%
  • Asian0.3%
  • American Indian / Alaska Native0%
  • Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0%
  • Multiracial3.5%

Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22 matched schools. Totals can differ due to rounding or source privacy rules.

Explore schools in Canton Public Schools

9 current directory entries

Search the full district by school name or level, or browse the alphabetical directory. Add schools to your comparison as you go.

Showing 1–9 of 9 schools · enrollment and ratios: NCES 2024–25. Scroll the table to see all columns.

Schools, grade spans, enrollment, and student–teacher ratios
SchoolLevel / gradesStudentsRatioCompare
CANTON CAREER CENTERHigh08–120Not reported
CANTON EDUCATIONAL SERVICES CENTEROther01–120Not reported
Canton Elementary SchoolElementaryPK–0541117.1:1
Canton High SchoolHigh09–1289918:1
Huey L Porter MiddleMiddle06–0835613:1
Jimmie M Goodloe ElementaryElementaryPK–0536615.3:1
McNeal Elementary SchoolElementaryPK–0538517.4:1
Nichols Middle SchoolMiddle06–0836212.9:1
Reuben B. Myers Arts & SciencesElementaryPK–0537815.8:1