At a glance
Teachers (FTE)
23.72
NCES CCD 2024–25
Grades served
PK–05
NCES preliminary directory 2025–26
Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22
These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Differences between years can reflect changes in enrollment, staffing, or reporting scope.
- Students
- 199
- Teachers (FTE)
- 15
- Student–teacher ratio
- 13.3:1
What the reported data says about Shirley Elementary School
Shirley Elementary School is a public elementary school serving grades PK–05 in Jackson. It is one of 40 current school records connected to Jackson Public Schools. Current enrollment was not reported in the matched federal membership file.
The largest reported race and ethnicity groups are Black (95%) and White (3.5%). Students served under IDEA represent 15.1%. These figures help families understand who the school serves; they are not rating inputs.
The 2021–22 civil-rights collection reports gifted and talented programming. Program availability changes, so families should confirm the current catalog and participation rules directly with the school.
Questions worth asking Shirley Elementary School
- 1How do the reported Not reported student–teacher ratio and 23.72 teacher FTE translate into actual class sizes by grade?
- 2Which advanced, gifted, career, arts, and computer-science courses are available this year, and how do students qualify?
- 3What counseling support is available today? The school reported 0 counselor FTE in 2021–22.
- 4Does community eligibility provide breakfast and lunch to every enrolled student, and are summer meals available?
Enrollment needs
- Students with disabilities
- 15.1%
- Lunch program
- Yes under Community Eligibility Option (CEO)
Reported support staff
- Counselors (FTE)
- 0
- Nurses (FTE)
- 0
- Psychologists (FTE)
- 0
- Social workers (FTE)
- 0
CRDC 2021–22 full-time-equivalent counts; verify current assignments with the school.
Student demographics
Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment
- White3.5%
- Hispanic0.5%
- Black95%
- Asian0%
- American Indian / Alaska Native0%
- Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0%
- Multiracial1%
Race/ethnicity: CRDC 2021–22. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22. Lunch eligibility: NCES CCD 2024–25. Privacy rules can produce missing values.
Programs reported by the school
Gifted and talented
Offered
CRDC 2021–22: the AP flag records student enrollment; gifted and computer-science fields describe reported programs/classes. Confirm current courses and eligibility with the school.
Other schools in Jackson Public Schools
Start with campuses at the same school level or with similar reported enrollment.
Clausell Elementary School
Elementary · Grades KG–05
231 reported students
Barack Obama Elementary School
Elementary · Grades PK–05
242 reported students
Isable Elementary School
Elementary · Grades KG–05
244 reported students
Key Elementary School
Elementary · Grades KG–05
259 reported students
Timberlawn Elementary School
Elementary · Grades KG–05
295 reported students
Galloway Elementary School
Elementary · Grades PK–05
296 reported students
