At a glance
Reported students
358
NCES CCD 2024–25
Teachers (FTE)
34.78
NCES CCD 2024–25
Student–teacher ratio
10.3:1
Calculated; not a class-size measure
Grades served
08–08
NCES preliminary directory 2025–26
School benchmarks
Mississippi middle enrollment
44th percentile
Compared with 176 same-level schools reporting enrollment.
District median enrollment
358
Armstrong Junior High School: 358 reported students.
State peer staffing position
6th percentile
10.3:1 reported; state peer median 13.2:1. Ratio is not class size.
Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22
These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Differences between years can reflect changes in enrollment, staffing, or reporting scope.
- Students
- 761
- Teachers (FTE)
- 68
- Student–teacher ratio
- 11.2:1
What the reported data says about Armstrong Junior High School
Armstrong Junior High School is a public middle school serving grades 08–08 in Starkville. It is one of 9 current school records connected to Starkville Oktibbeha Consolidated School District. NCES reports 358 students for 2024–25.
Among 176 middle schools in Mississippi with comparable records, this school is close in size to the reported median of 377 students. Its enrollment is at approximately the 44th percentile for that peer group. Size describes the campus, not instructional quality.
The reported student–teacher ratio is 10.3:1, below the Mississippi median of 13.2:1 for the same school level. This ratio uses total enrollment and teacher FTE; it is not an average classroom headcount and can be affected by special programs or part-time staffing.
The largest reported race and ethnicity groups are Black (70.1%) and White (26%). English learners represent 1.7% of enrollment. Students served under IDEA represent 15.2%. These figures help families understand who the school serves; they are not rating inputs.
The 2021–22 civil-rights collection reports AP student enrollment. The school reported 1 AP course. Program availability changes, so families should confirm the current catalog and participation rules directly with the school.
Questions worth asking Armstrong Junior High School
- 1How do the reported 10.3:1 student–teacher ratio and 34.78 teacher FTE translate into actual class sizes by grade?
- 2Have the reported academic programs changed since the 2021–22 CRDC collection?
- 3What counseling support is available today? The school reported 2 counselor FTE in 2021–22.
- 4What meal assistance, transportation, after-school, and family-support services are currently available?
Enrollment needs
- English learners
- 1.7%
- Students with disabilities
- 15.2%
- Free/reduced-price lunch
- 66.8%
- Lunch program
- No
Reported support staff
- Counselors (FTE)
- 2
- Nurses (FTE)
- 1
- Psychologists (FTE)
- 0
- Social workers (FTE)
- 0.5
CRDC 2021–22 full-time-equivalent counts; verify current assignments with the school.
Student demographics
Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment
- White26%
- Hispanic1.1%
- Black70.1%
- Asian2.8%
- American Indian / Alaska Native0%
- Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0%
- Multiracial0%
Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22. Lunch eligibility: NCES CCD 2024–25. Privacy rules can produce missing values.
Programs reported by the school
AP student enrollment
Students enrolled
1 distinct course reported
Gifted and talented
Not reported as offered
Computer science
Not reported as offered
CRDC 2021–22: the AP flag records student enrollment; gifted and computer-science fields describe reported programs/classes. Confirm current courses and eligibility with the school.
Other schools in Starkville Oktibbeha Consolidated School District
Start with campuses at the same school level or with similar reported enrollment.
Overstreet Elementary School
Middle · Grades 05–05
324 reported students
SOCSD/MSU Partnership Middle School
Middle · Grades 06–07
646 reported students
West Elementary School
Elementary · Grades PK–05
190 reported students
MILLSAPS CAREER & TECH CENTER
High · Grades 08–12
0 reported students
THE LEARNING CENTER ALTERNATIVE
Other · Grades 01–12
0 reported students
Sudduth Elementary School
Elementary · Grades PK–01
920 reported students
