At a glance
Reported students
242
NCES CCD 2024–25
Teachers (FTE)
15.08
NCES CCD 2024–25
Student–teacher ratio
16:1
Calculated; not a class-size measure
Grades served
09–12
NCES preliminary directory 2025–26
School benchmarks
New Jersey high enrollment
17th percentile
Compared with 464 same-level schools reporting enrollment.
District median enrollment
269.5
Academy For Performing Arts: 242 reported students.
State peer staffing position
94th percentile
16:1 reported; state peer median 12.1:1. Ratio is not class size.
Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22
These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Differences between years can reflect changes in enrollment, staffing, or reporting scope.
- Students
- 233
- Teachers (FTE)
- 17
- Student–teacher ratio
- 13.7:1
What the reported data says about Academy For Performing Arts
Academy For Performing Arts is a public high school serving grades 09–12 in SCOTCH PLAINS. It is one of 9 current school records connected to Union County Vocational-Technical School District. NCES reports 242 students for 2024–25.
Among 464 high schools in New Jersey with comparable records, this school is smaller than the reported median of 783 students. Its enrollment is at approximately the 17th percentile for that peer group. Size describes the campus, not instructional quality.
The reported student–teacher ratio is 16:1, above the New Jersey median of 12.1:1 for the same school level. This ratio uses total enrollment and teacher FTE; it is not an average classroom headcount and can be affected by special programs or part-time staffing.
The largest reported race and ethnicity groups are White (43%) and Hispanic or Latino (30.2%). Students served under IDEA represent 3%. These figures help families understand who the school serves; they are not rating inputs.
The 2021–22 civil-rights collection reports AP student enrollment. The school reported 3 AP courses. Program availability changes, so families should confirm the current catalog and participation rules directly with the school.
Questions worth asking Academy For Performing Arts
- 1How do the reported 16:1 student–teacher ratio and 15.08 teacher FTE translate into actual class sizes by grade?
- 2Have the reported academic programs changed since the 2021–22 CRDC collection?
- 3What counseling support is available today? The school reported 2 counselor FTE in 2021–22.
- 4What meal assistance, transportation, after-school, and family-support services are currently available?
Enrollment needs
- Students with disabilities
- 3%
- Free/reduced-price lunch
- 5%
- Lunch program
- No
Reported support staff
- Counselors (FTE)
- 2
- Nurses (FTE)
- 0.4
- Psychologists (FTE)
- 0.2
- Social workers (FTE)
- 0.2
CRDC 2021–22 full-time-equivalent counts; verify current assignments with the school.
Student demographics
Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment
- White43%
- Hispanic30.2%
- Black15.3%
- Asian4.1%
- American Indian / Alaska Native0%
- Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0.8%
- Multiracial3.3%
Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22. Lunch eligibility: NCES CCD 2024–25. Privacy rules can produce missing values.
Programs reported by the school
AP student enrollment
Students enrolled
3 distinct courses reported
Gifted and talented
Not reported as offered
Computer science
Not reported as offered
CRDC 2021–22: the AP flag records student enrollment; gifted and computer-science fields describe reported programs/classes. Confirm current courses and eligibility with the school.
Other schools in Union County Vocational-Technical School District
Start with campuses at the same school level or with similar reported enrollment.
Union County Magnet High School
High · Grades 09–12
297 reported students
Academy For Information Technology
High · Grades 09–12
307 reported students
Academy For Allied Health Sciences
High · Grades 09–12
308 reported students
Union County Career & Technical Institute
High · Grades 09–12
67 reported students
Raymond J. Lesniak Experience Strength & Hope Recovery HS
High · Grades 09–12
10 reported students
Simon Youth Academy
High · Grades 09–12
4 reported students
