Skip to content

Elko

NCES agency ID 3200120 · Regular public school district that is not a component of a supervisory union

At a glance

Reported students

9,595

NCES CCD 2024–25

Open schools

34

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

Student–teacher ratio

18.6:1

Calculated from NCES 2024–25 enrollment and teacher FTE

Spending per pupil

$13,020

Current expenditure · FY 2023 F-33

Instruction per pupil

$7,665

Calculated from FY 2023 F-33

Grades served

PK–12

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22

These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Agency figures aggregate matched current school records; they may not cover the complete historical district.

Students
9,740
Teachers (FTE)
602.94
Student–teacher ratio
16.2:1

What current records say about Elko

Elko operates 34 current public-school records serving grades PK–12 in Elko, Nevada. NCES reports 9,595 students and 514.75 classroom teacher FTE for 2024–25.

Within Nevada agencies of the same NCES type, it ranks 3 of 17 with reported enrollment. That position describes scale only—it does not say whether individual schools are a good fit for a particular student.

FY 2023 finance records show $13,020 in current expenditure per pupil and $7,665 per pupil assigned to instruction. Within the same NCES agency type, this places reported current spending 11 of 17 in Nevada. Local wages, transportation, special education, facilities, and agency responsibilities all affect this comparison.

Compare Elko with regular districts in the Nevada rankings →

Reported needs and resources

English learners
8.5%
Students with disabilities (IDEA)
12.1%
Classroom teachers (FTE)
514.75
Current expenditure (FY 2023)
$132,301,000

Context measures describe who a district serves and its resources. They are not negative rating inputs.

Elko

Elko, Nevada

NCES EDGE 2024–25 · 40.8401, -115.7668

View office location on a map →

An office location does not show attendance boundaries. Ask the district to confirm the school assignment for a specific home address.

Enrollment questions to ask →

Student demographics

Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment

  • White54.4%
  • Hispanic34.8%
  • Black0.6%
  • Asian0.6%
  • American Indian / Alaska Native5.5%
  • Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0.2%
  • Multiracial3.2%

Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22 matched schools. Totals can differ due to rounding or source privacy rules.

Explore schools in Elko

34 current directory entries

Search the full district by school name or level, or browse the alphabetical directory. Add schools to your comparison as you go.

Showing 1–24 of 34 schools · enrollment and ratios: NCES 2024–25. Scroll the table to see all columns.

Schools, grade spans, enrollment, and student–teacher ratios
SchoolLevel / gradesStudentsRatioCompare
Adobe Middle SchoolMiddle07–0866823:1
Battle Born Youth Challenge AcademyHigh09–124723.5:1
Carlin Elementary SchoolElementaryKG–0618318.3:1
Carlin High SchoolHigh09–121068.2:1
Carlin Jr High SchoolMiddle07–0852Not reported
Early Childhood GBCElementaryPK–KG20Not reported
Elko High SchoolHigh09–121,40721.3:1
Flagview Intermediate SchoolMiddle05–0667421.1:1
Grammar School 2ElementaryPK–0434118.9:1
Independence Valley Elementary SchoolElementaryKG–085Not reported
Jackpot Elementary SchoolElementaryKG–067815.6:1
Jackpot High SchoolHigh09–12399.8:1
Jackpot Jr High SchoolMiddle07–0814Not reported
Liberty Peak Elementary SchoolElementaryPK–0557917:1
Montello Elementary SchoolElementaryKG–085Not reported
Mound Valley Elementary SchoolElementaryKG–0899:1
Mountain View Elementary SchoolElementaryKG–0450716.9:1
Northeastern Nevada Virtual AcademyOtherKG–1247Not reported
Northside Elementary SchoolElementaryPK–0434114.8:1
Owyhee Elementary SchoolElementaryPK–0616527.5:1
Owyhee High SchoolHigh09–128710.9:1
Owyhee Jr High SchoolMiddle07–0841Not reported
Ruby Valley Elementary SchoolElementaryKG–0862:1
Sage Elementary SchoolElementaryPK–0541316.5:1