Skip to content

CANAJOHARIE SENIOR HIGH SCHOOL

Grades 09–12 · CANAJOHARIE, NY · NCES 360630000411

At a glance

Reported students

249

NCES CCD 2024–25

Teachers (FTE)

27.98

NCES CCD 2024–25

Student–teacher ratio

8.9:1

Calculated; not a class-size measure

Grades served

09–12

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

School benchmarks

New York high enrollment

16th percentile

Compared with 1,188 same-level schools reporting enrollment.

District median enrollment

249

CANAJOHARIE SENIOR HIGH SCHOOL: 249 reported students.

State peer staffing position

18th percentile

8.9:1 reported; state peer median 10.8:1. Ratio is not class size.

Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22

These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Differences between years can reflect changes in enrollment, staffing, or reporting scope.

Students
280
Teachers (FTE)
32
Student–teacher ratio
8.8:1

What the reported data says about CANAJOHARIE SENIOR HIGH SCHOOL

CANAJOHARIE SENIOR HIGH SCHOOL is a public high school serving grades 09–12 in CANAJOHARIE. It is one of 3 current school records connected to CANAJOHARIE CENTRAL SCHOOL DISTRICT. NCES reports 249 students for 2024–25.

Among 1,188 high schools in New York with comparable records, this school is smaller than the reported median of 460 students. Its enrollment is at approximately the 16th percentile for that peer group. Size describes the campus, not instructional quality.

The reported student–teacher ratio is 8.9:1, below the New York median of 10.8:1 for the same school level. This ratio uses total enrollment and teacher FTE; it is not an average classroom headcount and can be affected by special programs or part-time staffing.

The largest reported race and ethnicity groups are White (96%) and Hispanic or Latino (1.2%). English learners represent 1.4% of enrollment. Students served under IDEA represent 11.1%. These figures help families understand who the school serves; they are not rating inputs.

The 2021–22 civil-rights collection reports AP student enrollment. The school reported 6 AP courses. Program availability changes, so families should confirm the current catalog and participation rules directly with the school.

Questions worth asking CANAJOHARIE SENIOR HIGH SCHOOL

  1. 1How do the reported 8.9:1 student–teacher ratio and 27.98 teacher FTE translate into actual class sizes by grade?
  2. 2Have the reported academic programs changed since the 2021–22 CRDC collection?
  3. 3What counseling support is available today? The school reported 1 counselor FTE in 2021–22.
  4. 4Does community eligibility provide breakfast and lunch to every enrolled student, and are summer meals available?
Bring the full school visit checklist →

Enrollment needs

English learners
1.4%
Students with disabilities
11.1%
Free/reduced-price lunch
44.6%
Lunch program
Yes under Community Eligibility Option (CEO)

Reported support staff

Counselors (FTE)
1
Nurses (FTE)
1
Psychologists (FTE)
1
Social workers (FTE)
1

CRDC 2021–22 full-time-equivalent counts; verify current assignments with the school.

Student demographics

Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment

  • White96%
  • Hispanic1.2%
  • Black0.8%
  • Asian0.4%
  • American Indian / Alaska Native0%
  • Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0.4%
  • Multiracial1.2%

Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22. Lunch eligibility: NCES CCD 2024–25. Privacy rules can produce missing values.

Programs reported by the school

AP student enrollment

Students enrolled

6 distinct courses reported

Gifted and talented

Not reported as offered

Computer science

Not reported as offered

CRDC 2021–22: the AP flag records student enrollment; gifted and computer-science fields describe reported programs/classes. Confirm current courses and eligibility with the school.

Start with campuses at the same school level or with similar reported enrollment.

View all 3 district schools →