Skip to content

Orangeburg

NCES agency ID 4503910 · Regular public school district that is not a component of a supervisory union

At a glance

Reported students

10,089

NCES CCD 2024–25

Open schools

24

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

Student–teacher ratio

13.8:1

Calculated from NCES 2024–25 enrollment and teacher FTE

Spending per pupil

$16,571

Current expenditure · FY 2023 F-33

Instruction per pupil

$7,486

Calculated from FY 2023 F-33

Grades served

PK–12

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22

These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Agency figures aggregate matched current school records; they may not cover the complete historical district.

Students
8,691
Teachers (FTE)
645
Student–teacher ratio
13.5:1

What current records say about Orangeburg

Orangeburg operates 24 current public-school records serving grades PK–12 in Orangeburg, South Carolina. NCES reports 10,089 students and 729.79 classroom teacher FTE for 2024–25.

Within South Carolina agencies of the same NCES type, it ranks 24 of 75 with reported enrollment. That position describes scale only—it does not say whether individual schools are a good fit for a particular student.

FY 2023 finance records show $16,571 in current expenditure per pupil and $7,486 per pupil assigned to instruction. Within the same NCES agency type, this places reported current spending 14 of 70 in South Carolina. Local wages, transportation, special education, facilities, and agency responsibilities all affect this comparison.

Compare Orangeburg with regular districts in the South Carolina rankings →

Reported needs and resources

English learners
3.3%
Students with disabilities (IDEA)
13.2%
Classroom teachers (FTE)
729.79
Current expenditure (FY 2023)
$181,930,000

Context measures describe who a district serves and its resources. They are not negative rating inputs.

Orangeburg

Orangeburg, South Carolina

NCES EDGE 2024–25 · 33.5254, -80.8567

View office location on a map →

An office location does not show attendance boundaries. Ask the district to confirm the school assignment for a specific home address.

Enrollment questions to ask →

Student demographics

Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment

  • White16.7%
  • Hispanic5.6%
  • Black73.5%
  • Asian0.8%
  • American Indian / Alaska Native0.3%
  • Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0.1%
  • Multiracial3%

Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22 matched schools. Totals can differ due to rounding or source privacy rules.

Explore schools in Orangeburg

24 current directory entries

Search the full district by school name or level, or browse the alphabetical directory. Add schools to your comparison as you go.

Showing 1–24 of 24 schools · enrollment and ratios: NCES 2024–25. Scroll the table to see all columns.

Schools, grade spans, enrollment, and student–teacher ratios
SchoolLevel / gradesStudentsRatioCompare
Bethune-Bowman ElementaryElementaryPK–0525914:1
Bethune-Bowman Middle/HighHigh06–1234914:1
Branchville HighHigh06–1231714.3:1
Brookdale ElementaryElementaryPK–0521513.3:1
Carver Edisto MiddleMiddle06–0843912.8:1
Dover ElementaryElementaryPK–0523715.3:1
East Lake ElementaryElementaryKG–05Not reportedNot reported
Edisto ElementaryElementary03–0541915.3:1
Edisto HighHigh09–1261412.7:1
Edisto PrimaryElementaryPK–0263515.1:1
Elloree ElementaryElementaryPK–0825213:1
Hunter-Kinard-Tyler ElementaryElementaryPK–0517915.3:1
Hunter-Kinard-Tyler HighHigh06–1222012.8:1
Lake Marion High SchoolHigh09–1269217.1:1
Lake Marion MiddleMiddle06–0850114.2:1
Lake Marion Technology CenterHigh09–1200:1
Lockett ElementaryElementaryPK–0523914.4:1
Marshall ElementaryElementaryPK–0562516.1:1
Mellichamp ElementaryElementary03–0514410:1
North Middle/HighHigh06–122279.2:1
Orangeburg Wilkinson HighHigh09–1299216.5:1
Sheridan ElementaryElementaryPK–0545013.9:1
Whittaker ElementaryElementaryPK–0532515.5:1
William J. Clark MiddleMiddle06–0858713:1