At a glance
Reported students
923
NCES CCD 2024–25
Teachers (FTE)
51.29
NCES CCD 2024–25
Student–teacher ratio
18:1
Calculated; not a class-size measure
Grades served
09–12
NCES preliminary directory 2025–26
School benchmarks
South Dakota high enrollment
94th percentile
Compared with 180 same-level schools reporting enrollment.
District median enrollment
416
Yankton High School - 01: 923 reported students.
State peer staffing position
94th percentile
18:1 reported; state peer median 11.4:1. Ratio is not class size.
Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22
These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Differences between years can reflect changes in enrollment, staffing, or reporting scope.
- Students
- 948
- Teachers (FTE)
- 53
- Student–teacher ratio
- 17.9:1
What the reported data says about Yankton High School - 01
Yankton High School - 01 is a public high school serving grades 09–12 in Yankton. It is one of 6 current school records connected to Yankton School District 63-3. NCES reports 923 students for 2024–25.
Among 180 high schools in South Dakota with comparable records, this school is larger than the reported median of 93.5 students. Its enrollment is at approximately the 94th percentile for that peer group. Size describes the campus, not instructional quality.
The reported student–teacher ratio is 18:1, above the South Dakota median of 11.4:1 for the same school level. This ratio uses total enrollment and teacher FTE; it is not an average classroom headcount and can be affected by special programs or part-time staffing.
The largest reported race and ethnicity groups are White (81.6%) and Hispanic or Latino (9.2%). English learners represent 2.2% of enrollment. Students served under IDEA represent 7.7%. These figures help families understand who the school serves; they are not rating inputs.
The 2021–22 civil-rights collection reports AP student enrollment. The school reported 10 AP courses. Program availability changes, so families should confirm the current catalog and participation rules directly with the school.
Questions worth asking Yankton High School - 01
- 1How do the reported 18:1 student–teacher ratio and 51.29 teacher FTE translate into actual class sizes by grade?
- 2Have the reported academic programs changed since the 2021–22 CRDC collection?
- 3What counseling support is available today? The school reported 3 counselor FTE in 2021–22.
- 4What meal assistance, transportation, after-school, and family-support services are currently available?
Enrollment needs
- English learners
- 2.2%
- Students with disabilities
- 7.7%
- Free/reduced-price lunch
- 28.2%
- Lunch program
- Yes participating without using any Provision or the CEO
Reported support staff
- Counselors (FTE)
- 3
- Nurses (FTE)
- 0.33
- Psychologists (FTE)
- 0.25
- Social workers (FTE)
- 0
CRDC 2021–22 full-time-equivalent counts; verify current assignments with the school.
Student demographics
Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment
- White81.6%
- Hispanic9.2%
- Black1.2%
- Asian0.4%
- American Indian / Alaska Native3.9%
- Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0.2%
- Multiracial3.5%
Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22. Lunch eligibility: NCES CCD 2024–25. Privacy rules can produce missing values.
Programs reported by the school
AP student enrollment
Students enrolled
10 distinct courses reported
Gifted and talented
Not reported as offered
Computer science
Not reported as offered
CRDC 2021–22: the AP flag records student enrollment; gifted and computer-science fields describe reported programs/classes. Confirm current courses and eligibility with the school.
Other schools in Yankton School District 63-3
Start with campuses at the same school level or with similar reported enrollment.
Yankton Middle School - 02
Middle · Grades 06–08
608 reported students
Lincoln Elementary - 04
Elementary · Grades 01–05
416 reported students
Beadle Elementary - 03
Elementary · Grades 01–05
412 reported students
Stewart Elementary - 05
Elementary · Grades 01–05
271 reported students
Trailhead Learning Center -07
Elementary · Grades PK–KG
Enrollment not reported
