Skip to content

Carter County Schools

NCES agency ID 4700510 · Regular public school district that is not a component of a supervisory union

At a glance

Reported students

4,450

NCES CCD 2024–25

Open schools

14

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

Spending per pupil

$11,526

Current expenditure · FY 2023 F-33

Instruction per pupil

$7,203

Calculated from FY 2023 F-33

Grades served

PK–12

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22

These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Agency figures aggregate matched current school records; they may not cover the complete historical district.

Students
4,214
Teachers (FTE)
384
Student–teacher ratio
11:1

What current records say about Carter County Schools

Carter County Schools operates 14 current public-school records serving grades PK–12 in Elizabethton, Tennessee. NCES reports 4,450 students and no matched teacher total for 2024–25.

Within Tennessee agencies of the same NCES type, it ranks 50 of 141 with reported enrollment. That position describes scale only—it does not say whether individual schools are a good fit for a particular student.

FY 2023 finance records show $11,526 in current expenditure per pupil and $7,203 per pupil assigned to instruction. Within the same NCES agency type, this places reported current spending 65 of 140 in Tennessee. Local wages, transportation, special education, facilities, and agency responsibilities all affect this comparison.

Compare Carter County Schools with regular districts in the Tennessee rankings →

Reported needs and resources

English learners
1.4%
Students with disabilities (IDEA)
15.8%
Current expenditure (FY 2023)
$54,912,000

Context measures describe who a district serves and its resources. They are not negative rating inputs.

Carter County Schools

Elizabethton, Tennessee

NCES EDGE 2024–25 · 36.3784, -82.2213

View office location on a map →

An office location does not show attendance boundaries. Ask the district to confirm the school assignment for a specific home address.

Enrollment questions to ask →

Student demographics

Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment

  • White91.1%
  • Hispanic5.1%
  • Black0.7%
  • Asian0.2%
  • American Indian / Alaska Native0.2%
  • Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0%
  • Multiracial2.7%

Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22 matched schools. Totals can differ due to rounding or source privacy rules.

Explore schools in Carter County Schools

14 current directory entries

Search the full district by school name or level, or browse the alphabetical directory. Add schools to your comparison as you go.

Showing 1–14 of 14 schools · enrollment and ratios: NCES 2024–25. Scroll the table to see all columns.

Schools, grade spans, enrollment, and student–teacher ratios
SchoolLevel / gradesStudentsRatioCompare
Carter County Alternative SchoolHigh05–1261Not reported
Carter County Online AcademyOtherKG–12123Not reported
Central Elementary SchoolElementaryPK–05267Not reported
Cloudland Elementary SchoolElementaryPK–06262Not reported
Cloudland High SchoolHigh07–12236Not reported
Hampton Elementary SchoolElementaryPK–08662Not reported
Hampton High SchoolHigh09–12368Not reported
Happy Valley Elementary SchoolElementaryPK–04506Not reported
Happy Valley High SchoolHigh09–12449Not reported
Happy Valley Middle SchoolMiddle05–08354Not reported
Hunter Elementary SchoolElementaryKG–08498Not reported
Unaka Elementary SchoolElementaryPK–05194Not reported
Unaka High SchoolHigh09–12284Not reported
Valley Forge Elementary SchoolElementaryPK–05186Not reported