Skip to content

Fayette County Schools

NCES agency ID 4701170 · Regular public school district that is not a component of a supervisory union

At a glance

Reported students

2,908

NCES CCD 2024–25

Open schools

7

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

Spending per pupil

$11,987

Current expenditure · FY 2023 F-33

Instruction per pupil

$5,953

Calculated from FY 2023 F-33

Grades served

PK–12

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22

These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Agency figures aggregate matched current school records; they may not cover the complete historical district.

Students
2,973
Teachers (FTE)
243
Student–teacher ratio
12.2:1

What current records say about Fayette County Schools

Fayette County Schools operates 7 current public-school records serving grades PK–12 in Somerville, Tennessee. NCES reports 2,908 students and no matched teacher total for 2024–25.

Within Tennessee agencies of the same NCES type, it ranks 81 of 141 with reported enrollment. That position describes scale only—it does not say whether individual schools are a good fit for a particular student.

FY 2023 finance records show $11,987 in current expenditure per pupil and $5,953 per pupil assigned to instruction. Within the same NCES agency type, this places reported current spending 37 of 140 in Tennessee. Local wages, transportation, special education, facilities, and agency responsibilities all affect this comparison.

Compare Fayette County Schools with regular districts in the Tennessee rankings →

Reported needs and resources

English learners
4.1%
Students with disabilities (IDEA)
12.7%
Current expenditure (FY 2023)
$38,815,000

Context measures describe who a district serves and its resources. They are not negative rating inputs.

Fayette County Schools

Somerville, Tennessee

NCES EDGE 2024–25 · 35.2071, -89.3539

View office location on a map →

An office location does not show attendance boundaries. Ask the district to confirm the school assignment for a specific home address.

Enrollment questions to ask →

Student demographics

Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment

  • White28.9%
  • Hispanic10.7%
  • Black56.9%
  • Asian0.5%
  • American Indian / Alaska Native0.3%
  • Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0%
  • Multiracial2.6%

Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22 matched schools. Totals can differ due to rounding or source privacy rules.

Explore schools in Fayette County Schools

7 current directory entries

Search the full district by school name or level, or browse the alphabetical directory. Add schools to your comparison as you go.

Showing 1–7 of 7 schools · enrollment and ratios: NCES 2024–25. Scroll the table to see all columns.

Schools, grade spans, enrollment, and student–teacher ratios
SchoolLevel / gradesStudentsRatioCompare
Buckley-Carpenter Elementary SchoolElementaryPK–05491Not reported
East Jr. High SchoolMiddle06–08243Not reported
Fayette Ware Comprehensive High SchoolHigh09–12724Not reported
La Grange Moscow Elementary SchoolElementaryPK–05196Not reported
Oakland Elementary SchoolElementaryPK–05621Not reported
Southwest Elementary SchoolElementaryPK–05294Not reported
West Junior High SchoolMiddle06–08340Not reported