At a glance
Reported students
749
NCES CCD 2024–25
Grades served
09–12
NCES preliminary directory 2025–26
School benchmarks
Tennessee high enrollment
62nd percentile
Compared with 414 same-level schools reporting enrollment.
District median enrollment
537
Carter High School: 749 reported students.
Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22
These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Differences between years can reflect changes in enrollment, staffing, or reporting scope.
- Students
- 768
- Teachers (FTE)
- 59.5
- Student–teacher ratio
- 12.9:1
What the reported data says about Carter High School
Carter High School is a public high school serving grades 09–12 in Strawberry Plains. It is one of 93 current school records connected to Knox County Schools. NCES reports 749 students for 2024–25.
Among 414 high schools in Tennessee with comparable records, this school is larger than the reported median of 580 students. Its enrollment is at approximately the 62nd percentile for that peer group. Size describes the campus, not instructional quality.
The largest reported race and ethnicity groups are White (77.8%) and Hispanic or Latino (10.4%). English learners represent 1.8% of enrollment. Students served under IDEA represent 11.8%. These figures help families understand who the school serves; they are not rating inputs.
The 2021–22 civil-rights collection reports AP student enrollment. The school reported 8 AP courses. Program availability changes, so families should confirm the current catalog and participation rules directly with the school.
Questions worth asking Carter High School
- 1What are the current typical and maximum class sizes in each grade?
- 2Have the reported academic programs changed since the 2021–22 CRDC collection?
- 3What counseling support is available today? The school reported 3 counselor FTE in 2021–22.
- 4Does community eligibility provide breakfast and lunch to every enrolled student, and are summer meals available?
Enrollment needs
- English learners
- 1.8%
- Students with disabilities
- 11.8%
- Lunch program
- Yes under Community Eligibility Option (CEO)
Reported support staff
- Counselors (FTE)
- 3
- Nurses (FTE)
- 1
- Psychologists (FTE)
- 0.5
- Social workers (FTE)
- 0.5
CRDC 2021–22 full-time-equivalent counts; verify current assignments with the school.
Student demographics
Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment
- White77.8%
- Hispanic10.4%
- Black6.5%
- Asian0.5%
- American Indian / Alaska Native0.3%
- Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0%
- Multiracial4.4%
Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22. Lunch eligibility: NCES CCD 2024–25. Privacy rules can produce missing values.
Programs reported by the school
AP student enrollment
Students enrolled
8 distinct courses reported
Gifted and talented
Not reported as offered
Computer science
Not reported as offered
CRDC 2021–22: the AP flag records student enrollment; gifted and computer-science fields describe reported programs/classes. Confirm current courses and eligibility with the school.
Other schools in Knox County Schools
Start with campuses at the same school level or with similar reported enrollment.
Austin East High/Magnet School
High · Grades 09–12
663 reported students
L N STEM Academy
High · Grades 09–12
588 reported students
South Doyle High School
High · Grades 09–12
925 reported students
Fulton High School
High · Grades 09–12
933 reported students
Gibbs High School
High · Grades 09–12
1,029 reported students
Career Magnet Academy
High · Grades 09–12
359 reported students
