At a glance
Reported students
174
NCES CCD 2024–25
Grades served
KG–12
NCES preliminary directory 2025–26
School benchmarks
Tennessee other enrollment
60th percentile
Compared with 98 same-level schools reporting enrollment.
District median enrollment
455.5
Avon School: 174 reported students.
Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22
These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Differences between years can reflect changes in enrollment, staffing, or reporting scope.
- Students
- 187
- Teachers (FTE)
- 25
- Student–teacher ratio
- 7.5:1
What the reported data says about Avon School
Avon School is a public combined / other school serving grades KG–12 in Memphis. It is one of 209 current school records connected to Memphis-Shelby County Schools. NCES reports 174 students for 2024–25.
Among 98 combined / other schools in Tennessee with comparable records, this school is larger than the reported median of 126.5 students. Its enrollment is at approximately the 60th percentile for that peer group. Size describes the campus, not instructional quality.
The largest reported race and ethnicity groups are Black (82.2%) and Hispanic or Latino (6.9%). English learners represent 5.3% of enrollment. Students served under IDEA represent 41.7%. These figures help families understand who the school serves; they are not rating inputs.
Questions worth asking Avon School
- 1What are the current typical and maximum class sizes in each grade?
- 2Have the reported academic programs changed since the 2021–22 CRDC collection?
- 3What counseling support is available today? The school reported 1 counselor FTE in 2021–22.
- 4Does community eligibility provide breakfast and lunch to every enrolled student, and are summer meals available?
Enrollment needs
- English learners
- 5.3%
- Students with disabilities
- 41.7%
- Lunch program
- Yes under Community Eligibility Option (CEO)
Reported support staff
- Counselors (FTE)
- 1
- Nurses (FTE)
- 1
- Psychologists (FTE)
- 0.1
- Social workers (FTE)
- 0.33
CRDC 2021–22 full-time-equivalent counts; verify current assignments with the school.
Student demographics
Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment
- White5.7%
- Hispanic6.9%
- Black82.2%
- Asian2.9%
- American Indian / Alaska Native0%
- Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0%
- Multiracial2.3%
Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22. Lunch eligibility: NCES CCD 2024–25. Privacy rules can produce missing values.
Programs reported by the school
AP student enrollment
No students enrolled reported
Gifted and talented
Not reported as offered
Computer science
Not reported as offered
CRDC 2021–22: the AP flag records student enrollment; gifted and computer-science fields describe reported programs/classes. Confirm current courses and eligibility with the school.
Other schools in Memphis-Shelby County Schools
Start with campuses at the same school level or with similar reported enrollment.
Shrine School
Other · Grades PK–12
126 reported students
Memphis Virtual School
Other · Grades 04–12
309 reported students
Carver College and Career Academy
Other · Grades KG–12
402 reported students
Early Childhood Programs School
Other · Grades PK–PK
938 reported students
Invictus Academy at Airways
High · Grades 08–12
173 reported students
City University School Of Liberal Arts
High · Grades 09–12
179 reported students
