Skip to content

Tennessee Schools for the Deaf

NCES agency ID 4700146 · Specialized public school district

At a glance

Reported students

131

NCES CCD 2024–25

Open schools

4

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

Grades served

PK–12

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22

These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Agency figures aggregate matched current school records; they may not cover the complete historical district.

Students
141
Teachers (FTE)
36.82
Student–teacher ratio
3.8:1

What current records say about Tennessee Schools for the Deaf

Tennessee Schools for the Deaf operates 4 current public-school records serving grades PK–12 in Knoxville, Tennessee. NCES reports 131 students and no matched teacher total for 2024–25.

Within Tennessee agencies of the same NCES type, it ranks 3 of 6 with reported enrollment. That position describes scale only—it does not say whether individual schools are a good fit for a particular student.

Reported needs and resources

Students with disabilities (IDEA)
96.5%

Context measures describe who a district serves and its resources. They are not negative rating inputs.

Tennessee Schools for the Deaf

Knoxville, Tennessee

NCES EDGE 2024–25 · 35.9581, -83.8777

View office location on a map →

An office location does not show attendance boundaries. Ask the district to confirm the school assignment for a specific home address.

Enrollment questions to ask →

Student demographics

Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment

  • White51.9%
  • Hispanic21.4%
  • Black17.6%
  • Asian3.8%
  • American Indian / Alaska Native0%
  • Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander1.5%
  • Multiracial3.8%

Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22 matched schools. Totals can differ due to rounding or source privacy rules.

Explore schools in Tennessee Schools for the Deaf

4 current directory entries

Search the full district by school name or level, or browse the alphabetical directory. Add schools to your comparison as you go.

Showing 1–4 of 4 schools · enrollment and ratios: NCES 2024–25. Scroll the table to see all columns.

Schools, grade spans, enrollment, and student–teacher ratios
SchoolLevel / gradesStudentsRatioCompare
Tennessee School For Deaf Elementary SchoolElementaryPK–0541Not reported
Tennessee School for the Deaf High SchoolHigh09–1245Not reported
Tennessee School for the Deaf Middle SchoolMiddle06–0820Not reported
Tennessee School for the Deaf NashvilleElementaryPK–0525Not reported