Skip to content

Union County Schools

NCES agency ID 4704290 · Regular public school district that is not a component of a supervisory union

At a glance

Reported students

5,514

NCES CCD 2024–25

Open schools

12

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

Spending per pupil

$9,219

Current expenditure · FY 2023 F-33

Instruction per pupil

$6,499

Calculated from FY 2023 F-33

Grades served

PK–12

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22

These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Agency figures aggregate matched current school records; they may not cover the complete historical district.

Students
5,285
Teachers (FTE)
339
Student–teacher ratio
15.6:1

What current records say about Union County Schools

Union County Schools operates 12 current public-school records serving grades PK–12 in Maynardville, Tennessee. NCES reports 5,514 students and no matched teacher total for 2024–25.

Within Tennessee agencies of the same NCES type, it ranks 39 of 141 with reported enrollment. That position describes scale only—it does not say whether individual schools are a good fit for a particular student.

FY 2023 finance records show $9,219 in current expenditure per pupil and $6,499 per pupil assigned to instruction. Within the same NCES agency type, this places reported current spending 139 of 140 in Tennessee. Local wages, transportation, special education, facilities, and agency responsibilities all affect this comparison.

Compare Union County Schools with regular districts in the Tennessee rankings →

Reported needs and resources

English learners
1.5%
Students with disabilities (IDEA)
12.2%
Current expenditure (FY 2023)
$54,752,000

Context measures describe who a district serves and its resources. They are not negative rating inputs.

Union County Schools

Maynardville, Tennessee

NCES EDGE 2024–25 · 36.2327, -83.8334

View office location on a map →

An office location does not show attendance boundaries. Ask the district to confirm the school assignment for a specific home address.

Enrollment questions to ask →

Student demographics

Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment

  • White74%
  • Hispanic5.4%
  • Black14.6%
  • Asian0.5%
  • American Indian / Alaska Native0.2%
  • Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0%
  • Multiracial5.2%

Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22 matched schools. Totals can differ due to rounding or source privacy rules.

Explore schools in Union County Schools

12 current directory entries

Search the full district by school name or level, or browse the alphabetical directory. Add schools to your comparison as you go.

Showing 1–12 of 12 schools · enrollment and ratios: NCES 2024–25. Scroll the table to see all columns.

Schools, grade spans, enrollment, and student–teacher ratios
SchoolLevel / gradesStudentsRatioCompare
Big Ridge Elementary SchoolElementaryPK–05169Not reported
Elementary Middle Alternative SchoolElementaryKG–087Not reported
H Maynard Middle SchoolMiddle06–08604Not reported
Luttrell Elementary SchoolElementaryPK–05341Not reported
Maynardville Elementary SchoolElementaryPK–05366Not reported
Paulette Elementary SchoolElementaryPK–05341Not reported
Sharps Chapel Elementary SchoolElementaryPK–05127Not reported
Tennessee Virtual AcademyElementaryKG–051,867Not reported
Tennessee Virtual High SchoolHigh09–12Not reportedNot reported
Tennessee Virtual Middle SchoolMiddle06–08856Not reported
Union County Alternative CenterHigh06–1230Not reported
Union County High SchoolHigh09–12806Not reported