At a glance
Reported students
19
NCES CCD 2024–25
Grades served
03–12
NCES preliminary directory 2025–26
School benchmarks
Texas other enrollment
23rd percentile
Compared with 695 same-level schools reporting enrollment.
District median enrollment
399.5
DESOTO ALTERNATIVE EDUCATION CENTER (DAEP): 19 reported students.
Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22
These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Differences between years can reflect changes in enrollment, staffing, or reporting scope.
- Students
- 17
- Teachers (FTE)
- 8
- Student–teacher ratio
- 2.1:1
What the reported data says about DESOTO ALTERNATIVE EDUCATION CENTER (DAEP)
DESOTO ALTERNATIVE EDUCATION CENTER (DAEP) is a public combined / other school serving grades 03–12 in DESOTO. It is one of 11 current school records connected to DESOTO ISD. NCES reports 19 students for 2024–25.
Among 695 combined / other schools in Texas with comparable records, this school is smaller than the reported median of 195 students. Its enrollment is at approximately the 23rd percentile for that peer group. Size describes the campus, not instructional quality.
The largest reported race and ethnicity groups are Black (73.7%) and Hispanic or Latino (15.8%). Students served under IDEA represent 11.8%. These figures help families understand who the school serves; they are not rating inputs.
The 2021–22 civil-rights collection reports gifted and talented programming. Program availability changes, so families should confirm the current catalog and participation rules directly with the school.
Questions worth asking DESOTO ALTERNATIVE EDUCATION CENTER (DAEP)
- 1What are the current typical and maximum class sizes in each grade?
- 2Have the reported academic programs changed since the 2021–22 CRDC collection?
- 3What counseling support is available today? The school reported 0 counselor FTE in 2021–22.
- 4Does community eligibility provide breakfast and lunch to every enrolled student, and are summer meals available?
Enrollment needs
- Students with disabilities
- 11.8%
- Free/reduced-price lunch
- 47.4%
- Lunch program
- Yes under Community Eligibility Option (CEO)
Reported support staff
- Counselors (FTE)
- 0
- Nurses (FTE)
- 1
- Psychologists (FTE)
- 0
- Social workers (FTE)
- 0
CRDC 2021–22 full-time-equivalent counts; verify current assignments with the school.
Student demographics
Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment
- White5.3%
- Hispanic15.8%
- Black73.7%
- Asian0%
- American Indian / Alaska Native0%
- Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0%
- Multiracial5.3%
Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22. Lunch eligibility: NCES CCD 2024–25. Privacy rules can produce missing values.
Programs reported by the school
AP student enrollment
No students enrolled reported
Gifted and talented
Offered
Computer science
Not reported as offered
CRDC 2021–22: the AP flag records student enrollment; gifted and computer-science fields describe reported programs/classes. Confirm current courses and eligibility with the school.
Other schools in DESOTO ISD
Start with campuses at the same school level or with similar reported enrollment.
DALLAS COUNTY JJAEP DESOTO CAMPUS
Other · Grades 09–10
Enrollment not reported
AMBER TERRACE EARLY CHILDHOOD LEARNING CENTER
Other · Grades PK–PK
402 reported students
THE MEADOWS EL
Elementary · Grades KG–05
312 reported students
WOODRIDGE FINE ARTS AND GIFTED ACADEMY
Elementary · Grades KG–05
362 reported students
DESOTO WEST MIDDLE
Middle · Grades 06–08
370 reported students
COCKRELL HILL EL
Elementary · Grades KG–02
397 reported students
