At a glance
Source years shown below
Reported students
19,420
NCES CCD 2024–25
Open schools
23
NCES preliminary directory 2025–26
Student–teacher ratio
15.2:1
Calculated from NCES 2024–25 enrollment and teacher FTE
Spending per pupil
$11,683
Current expenditure · FY 2023 F-33
Instruction per pupil
$6,762
Calculated from FY 2023 F-33
Grades served
PK–12
NCES preliminary directory 2025–26
Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22
These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Agency figures aggregate matched current school records; they may not cover the complete historical district.
- Students
- 16,430
- Teachers (FTE)
- 1,066.42
- Student–teacher ratio
- 15.4:1
What current records say about NEW CANEY ISD
NEW CANEY ISD operates 23 current public-school records serving grades PK–12 in NEW CANEY, Texas. NCES reports 19,420 students and 1,274.87 classroom teacher FTE for 2024–25.
Within Texas agencies of the same NCES type, it ranks 69 of 1020 with reported enrollment. That position describes scale only—it does not say whether individual schools are a good fit for a particular student.
FY 2023 finance records show $11,683 in current expenditure per pupil and $6,762 per pupil assigned to instruction. Within the same NCES agency type, this places reported current spending 812 of 1019 in Texas. Local wages, transportation, special education, facilities, and agency responsibilities all affect this comparison.
Reported needs and resources
- English learners
- 31.9%
- Students with disabilities (IDEA)
- 9.8%
- Classroom teachers (FTE)
- 1,274.87
- Current expenditure (FY 2023)
- $214,315,000
Context measures describe who a district serves and its resources. They are not negative rating inputs.
NEW CANEY ISD
NEW CANEY, Texas
NCES EDGE 2024–25 · 30.1334, -95.2202
View office location on a map →An office location does not show attendance boundaries. Ask the district to confirm the school assignment for a specific home address.
Enrollment questions to ask →Student demographics
Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment
- White23%
- Hispanic63.1%
- Black8.7%
- Asian1.9%
- American Indian / Alaska Native0.3%
- Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0.2%
- Multiracial2.7%
Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22 matched schools. Totals can differ due to rounding or source privacy rules.
Explore schools in NEW CANEY ISD
23 current directory entries
Search the full district by school name or level, or browse the alphabetical directory. Add schools to your comparison as you go.
Showing 1–23 of 23 schools · enrollment and ratios: NCES 2024–25. Scroll the table to see all columns.
| School | Level / grades | Students | Ratio | Compare |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| BENS BRANCH EL | ElementaryPK–05 | 812 | 16:1 | |
| BROOKWOOD FOREST EL | ElementaryPK–05 | 791 | 15.4:1 | |
| DOGWOOD EL | ElementaryPK–05 | 911 | 14.4:1 | |
| HIGHLANDS EL | ElementaryPK–05 | 0 | Not reported | |
| HIGHLANDS MIDDLE | Middle06–08 | Not reported | Not reported | |
| INFINITY EARLY COLLEGE H S | High09–12 | 358 | 17.8:1 | |
| KEEFER CROSSING MIDDLE | Middle06–08 | 1,271 | 16:1 | |
| KINGS MANOR EL | ElementaryPK–05 | 801 | 16.1:1 | |
| NEW CANEY EL | ElementaryPK–05 | 787 | 14.9:1 | |
| NEW CANEY H S | High09–12 | 2,226 | 16.2:1 | |
| OAKLEY EL | ElementaryPK–05 | 816 | 14.5:1 | |
| PINE VALLEY MIDDLE | Middle06–08 | 741 | 14.2:1 | |
| PORTER EL | ElementaryPK–05 | 931 | 15.9:1 | |
| PORTER H S | High09–12 | 2,094 | 15.2:1 | |
| PROJECT RESTORE | Other08–11 | Not reported | Not reported | |
| ROBERT CRIPPEN EL | ElementaryPK–05 | 809 | 16.3:1 | |
| SORTERS MILL EL | ElementaryPK–05 | 838 | 15.7:1 | |
| TAVOLA EL | ElementaryPK–05 | 859 | 15.7:1 | |
| THE LEARNING CTR | High06–12 | 102 | 6.7:1 | |
| VALLEY RANCH EL | ElementaryPK–05 | 790 | 15:1 | |
| WEST FORK H S | High09–12 | 1,279 | 13.8:1 | |
| WHITE OAK MIDDLE | Middle06–08 | 833 | 15.5:1 | |
| WOODRIDGE FOREST MIDDLE | Middle06–08 | 1,371 | 17.5:1 |
