At a glance
Reported students
266
NCES CCD 2024–25
Teachers (FTE)
8
NCES CCD 2024–25
Student–teacher ratio
33.3:1
Calculated; not a class-size measure
Grades served
PK–PK
NCES preliminary directory 2025–26
School benchmarks
Washington other enrollment
83rd percentile
Compared with 244 same-level schools reporting enrollment.
District median enrollment
422
Hewins Early Learning Center: 266 reported students.
State peer staffing position
72nd percentile
33.3:1 reported; state peer median 23.5:1. Ratio is not class size.
Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22
These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Differences between years can reflect changes in enrollment, staffing, or reporting scope.
- Students
- Not reported
- Teachers (FTE)
- 8
- Student–teacher ratio
- Not reported
What the reported data says about Hewins Early Learning Center
Hewins Early Learning Center is a public combined / other school serving grades PK–PK in Tacoma. It is one of 14 current school records connected to Franklin Pierce School District. NCES reports 266 students for 2024–25.
Among 244 combined / other schools in Washington with comparable records, this school is larger than the reported median of 89.5 students. Its enrollment is at approximately the 83rd percentile for that peer group. Size describes the campus, not instructional quality.
The reported student–teacher ratio is 33.3:1, above the Washington median of 23.5:1 for the same school level. This ratio uses total enrollment and teacher FTE; it is not an average classroom headcount and can be affected by special programs or part-time staffing.
The largest reported race and ethnicity groups are Hispanic or Latino (40.6%) and White (22.9%). These figures help families understand who the school serves; they are not rating inputs.
Questions worth asking Hewins Early Learning Center
- 1How do the reported 33.3:1 student–teacher ratio and 8 teacher FTE translate into actual class sizes by grade?
- 2Which advanced, gifted, career, arts, and computer-science courses are available this year, and how do students qualify?
- 3What counseling support is available today? The school reported 0 counselor FTE in 2021–22.
- 4Does community eligibility provide breakfast and lunch to every enrolled student, and are summer meals available?
Enrollment needs
- Free/reduced-price lunch
- 82.3%
- Lunch program
- Yes under Community Eligibility Option (CEO)
Reported support staff
- Counselors (FTE)
- 0
- Nurses (FTE)
- 0.54
- Psychologists (FTE)
- 1.5
- Social workers (FTE)
- 1
CRDC 2021–22 full-time-equivalent counts; verify current assignments with the school.
Student demographics
Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment
- White22.9%
- Hispanic40.6%
- Black15%
- Asian4.1%
- American Indian / Alaska Native0.8%
- Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander2.3%
- Multiracial14.3%
Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22. Lunch eligibility: NCES CCD 2024–25. Privacy rules can produce missing values.
Programs reported by the school
Gifted and talented
Not reported as offered
CRDC 2021–22: the AP flag records student enrollment; gifted and computer-science fields describe reported programs/classes. Confirm current courses and eligibility with the school.
Other schools in Franklin Pierce School District
Start with campuses at the same school level or with similar reported enrollment.
Elmhurst Elementary School
Elementary · Grades KG–05
335 reported students
Christensen Elementary
Elementary · Grades KG–05
346 reported students
Central Avenue Elementary
Elementary · Grades KG–05
355 reported students
James Sales Elementary
Elementary · Grades KG–05
387 reported students
Midland Elementary
Elementary · Grades KG–05
399 reported students
GATES Secondary School
High · Grades 10–12
104 reported students
